Film Nights

18 Dec

The Boyfriend went out of town on a business trip a few days ago; I watch films in the evening to take a break from reading (I finished three books over the weekend).

I started with:

Pride and Prejudice – BBC

pride-and-prejudice-bbc

What I especially like in this version is that important (positive) developments for Elizabeth’s and Darcy’s relationship happen outside. The letter, the conversation with the aunt, and the second proposal – all outside, whereas the first proposal is inside. I just like to think it’s a fitting connection because Elizabeth is so fond of being outside and of walking.

Then of course I had to see:

Pride and Prejudice, the film version from 2005

pride-and-prejudice

I like this movie. It’s beautifully filmed and has some really good scenes – the hand thing, the near kiss at the first proposal (outside!), Elizabeth in the white room with the statues. One problem: What’s with Keira Knightley scrunching up her face to show whatever?

And then, to make it complete, I watched:

Bridget Jones’s Diary

bridget-joness-diary

My favorite scenes: the one in the hallway when Mark tells Bridget that he likes her just the way she is; the interview, at the end of Mark’s answer to Bridget’s question about the trial – I like his look. He seems like he wishes for himself what he says then.

Yesterday evening, it was time for:

north-and-south-mr-thornton

Ahm, I mean:

North and South – BBC

north-and-south

Those who know of my blog very probably know my post about this film. So I’ll just say: it was the fitting conclusion to my evenings of girly romantic films.

But tonight, it’s definitely time for something different:

Battlestar Galactica

battlestar-galactica-season-1

LOVE THIS SERIES!

2 Responses to “Film Nights”

  1. KristieJ Tuesday, December 23, 2008 at 1:16 pm #

    It’s been a while since I’ve watched North and South so I plan on treating myself Christmas Eve to a North and South fest – complete with Irish Coffe, a nice warm blanket and pillow in case I fall asleep.

  2. Taja Tuesday, December 23, 2008 at 10:22 pm #

    This sounds like a lovely plan for Christmas Eve! North and South was as great this time around as it was the last time (June) for me. *sigh*

    The Boyfriend and I “boycott” Christmas this year. We stay at home and besides some decorations – I love the lights! – we don’t bother with anything. 🙂

Leave a comment