"North And South" (+ Books)

26 Nov

What can I say? I watched North and South Friday night, went to bed at 2 a.m. – WOWed and “this was really good” – dreamt about it, got up and watched it again. How’s that for a comment?

There are many great scenes, and many wonderful-not-that-important-for-the-plot-but-nevertheless great scenes, I don’t know which one(s) to single out. But then, it wouldn’t be wrong to say that each and every one scene is just right. Really. Also, I’m still just too “wowed” to say anything more coherent and thoughtful than that and it’ll have to do.

Maybe I’m watching it again tonight because right now I’ve a small reading slump (at least I hope it’s small). I just can’t sit still to read, although I obviously can do it to watch movies. Go figure. The last novels I finished were Kristin Hardy’s Always a Bridesmaid and C. L. Wilson’s Lord of the Fading Lands. I started to read Searching for Memory. The Brain, the Mind, and the Past by Daniel L Schacter last week and find the things I “learn” fascinating and interesting, but it’s sure no book to sit down and read in one sitting (my favourite kind of reading).

The good news is, apparently I’m still able to order new books.

Today, amazon shipped

  • Linnea Sinclair – The Down Home Zombie Blues (pre-ordered long ago)
  • Lara Adrian’s Kiss of Crimson (added this weekend)
  • The Unabridged Journals of Sylvia Plath (added this weekend)

In the near future:
– Julia Brigg’s Virgina Woolf: An Inner Life (ordered this weekend)

I’m pretty sure to order:

  • Hope Tarr’s Strokes of Midnight
  • Kristin Hardy’s Her Christmas Surprise

I think about ordering:

  • Robin D. Owen – Heart Choice
  • Eloisa James – Desperate Duchesses, or The Taming of the Duke
  • Laura Lee Guhrke – And Then He Kissed Her

There are more. These are just the ones I looked at today.

One Response to “"North And South" (+ Books)”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. “North And South” - My Second Take « Books and Games - Tuesday, June 24, 2008

    […] me on her list of “North and South”-Crusaders, I’ll have to do better than the measly comments I scribbled down about it last year. So this weekend I battled The Boyfriend for control over the […]

Leave a comment