Concert: James Blunt – October 2008

26 Oct

EDIT TO CORRECT: It is Glasgow, not Manchester. Seesh.

I know that James Blunt is one of the singers/musicians you either like or not. He’s also known as a “women’s singer” (that is at least what I was told) but I like his songs, so here it goes.

I discovered James Blunt late. I knew about him, of course, but it was in March this year when I bought his first album Back to Bedlam and fell in love with it. Seriously, I always have trouble with questions that ask “What CD/book/film/… would you take if you were allowed only three?” It changes all the time, but it changes the most with music CDs.

But when I listened to this album, I liked it ALL. Needless to say, the following days I listened to it without end. Then I made the mistake of listening to it during the time when I thought my life would change drastically at the end of March/beginning of April this year. I still remember the one afternoon when I was at home and it was a bright and sunny day outside, and I was inside and thought my world was falling apart and I listened to this CD over and over again. It ruined this CD, and it ruined James Blunt. It was only a few weeks ago that I was able to listen to it in one go again.

So when The Boyfriend and I bought tickets for one of his concerts here, I looked forward to it with a strange mix of joy (I wanted to see this concert) and trepidation and finally bought his second album, All the Lost Souls.

The opening*:

James Blunt – Live – Leipzig – Oct 19 2008 – Opening

We stood in the pit, maybe 15-20 rows back from the first row, but his upright piano was right in line of our sight and we could see nearly the whole stage (in a situation like this I’m glad I’m rather tall for a woman).

I really liked the opening. It made everyone cheer and clap hands and put us all in the mood for what was to come: (leaving aside his more sad and contemplative songs) a fun and joyful concert. I was really surprised how dynamic and energetic the show was. Probably I was too influenced by some of the other live videos I saw on youtube (Bedlam sessions, BBC), which are rather acoustic in style. Not that there’s anything wrong with that but I really liked the way they played the songs now. I hope they release a DVD for this tour.

Anyway, on with the concert. I had the impression that they all were happy and had fun playing the concert (which is something of a wonder when you look at the number of concerts they did/do). I also thought the use of light was perfectly timed to the music. James seemed to have some trouble with a sore throat a few times but who cared. Really, there were more than enough people willing to take over for him, some a bit too much like the blonde behind me who was showing off to her English boyfriend by loudly singing along to all songs, even No Bravery. Umh yeah… I guess I was a little annoyed by her. Sorry. But in general, I love an audience that’s so happy and enthusiastic to sing (just not in my ear). I always think it’s a little awkward when a singer wants the audience to sing and they don’t really go for it all that well. At the concert we saw, there was no problem with that. As I said, we all had a really good time.

As for my trepidation? I needn’t have worried. There was only one time I was a bit teary-eyed. And they didn’t play Tears and Rain, which is probably my favorite song, so I was safe.

I also like 1973 better now. I thought it a so-so song while listening to it on CD, but since the concert, I really like it. It was the last song they played. I couldn’t believe it when James got up on the piano during the song, but oh how I loved it, and at the end of the song, confetti was raining down on us and it was just so fitting with the whole concert. Everyone was happy, clapping hands and smiling. I also loved the idea of taking a picture of the audience and showing it on the monitors on stage as the last picture. This last song is a good example of what the concert was like.

Here it is, 1973*:

James Blunt – Live – Glasgow – Oct 10 2008 – 1973

I’m sorry for going on and on but I needed this happy memory today because otherwise, this weekend was more of the category “black weekend” where a gaping whole comes and swallows you up out of the blue.

But don’t let this deter you from telling me my music taste could be better. *grin* I promise I won’t care because

THIS WAS A GREAT CONCERT!

* I tried to find videos where the sound and pictures were at least all right.

8 Responses to “Concert: James Blunt – October 2008”

  1. Lady of the Review Monday, October 27, 2008 at 3:11 am #

    Hiya! Thanks for commenting on my blog. Sorry I’ve been so slow in getting back to you. *eye roll* I’m horrible like that.

    I’m an ambivalent James Blunt fan. I like some of his stuff, but am not gung-ho about his music. Beautiful is still a goodie though. 🙂

    And I’m glad you like video games. I do too. I’ve got a PS3 and have had fun playing games on there. I’m such a geek. LOL!

    Enjoying reading lately. It’s nice for a change. Anywho, I’m going to add your blog to my sidebar. Hope that’s okay.

    Nite!

  2. Taja Monday, October 27, 2008 at 9:23 am #

    Hiya back! No need to apologize; I don’t expect some kind of “answer” when I leave a comment somewhere, although it’s certainly nice when it happens! Thank you. 🙂

    The funny thing about James Blunt is, the music itself isn’t 100% “my kind of music,” it’s the text of his songs and, yes, his voice, I think.

    And yeah, someone who likes to play video games! Geek is good. We’ll buy a PS3 eventually, I’m sure. Maybe I should go and look what kind of games are available!? It’s Christmas soon…

    Thanks for linking!

  3. Christine Thursday, October 30, 2008 at 6:17 pm #

    Taja! OMG we are concert going & reviewing twins! LOL I honestly didn’t see this post of yours before I went to see Coldplay. And it looks like I totally copied you! Which I would have done anyway, even if I didn’t already do it on my own.

    And we were both rained on with confetti at our concerts. I’m such a sucker for confetti. It’s so magical. I’m like a little kid. LOL

    Great concert review! 🙂

  4. Taja Thursday, October 30, 2008 at 9:06 pm #

    OMG we are concert going & reviewing twins!

    Christine – that’s what I thought when I read your posts about the concert. Was it yesterday? Anyway, I honestly didn’t think you copied me. There was even a third blogger (katiebabs?) with a concert post. Something must have been in the air, LOL. I thought it very amusing.

    You should have seen me grin (probably like an idiot) with all that confetti raining down. As you said, magical. I think I even squeed then. Ah, good times!

    I (we) also forgot to bring a camera. As I said, I’m an idiot. 🙂

  5. Christine Wednesday, November 5, 2008 at 10:34 pm #

    *throws confetti on your blog* 😉

  6. Taja Thursday, November 6, 2008 at 10:57 am #

    Awwwh! Thanks! *squee* 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Soundtrack Of My Life « Books and Games - Wednesday, November 19, 2008

    […] already wrote about why this CD is so special here. Tears and Rain is probably my favorite James Blunt […]

  2. Best Of 2008: Books and Games (And More) « Books and Games - Wednesday, December 31, 2008

    […] already wrote about the significance of James Blunt’s Back to Bedlam so I want to conclude this year with a […]

Leave a comment