Archive | 2:55 pm

Waiting For Books

30 Jan

I’m waiting for my books. I know it said 3-4 weeks but I had to go and read this excerpt of Meljean Brook’s Demon Night on The Good, The Bad, And The Unread, and now it’s worse. If e-book reading wouldn’t be such trouble (especially here in Europe), in cases like this I would be a happy customer.

I also ordered Joanna Bourne’s The Spymaster’s Lady because I really couldn’t ignore all the positive things I read about this novel any longer (sheep, sheep) even though … spy story and this naked chest cover … ewwh. In cases like this, I’m happy that I have to buy my books online. I wouldn’t have picked it up in a store and without the online buzz, I wouldn’t have ordered it. I think without blogs and online review sites, depending solely on the brick-and-mortar store here or online book shops, I wouldn’t read romance (any more).

Of course, I already have new books I want to read. Today, I found Sherry Thomas’s Private Arrangements again. I read an excerpt months ago and thought it interesting. I forgot to write down the name of the author and the title of the novel. What I remembered was that a historical I thought interesting would be published sometime (early) 2008. I’m happy that stumbled upon it again. It was on a blog (can’t remember where), and I read the name and thought “could this be ..?” This time, I wrote down the author’s name and the title of the novel. Also, there’s a good review of an interesting looking novel up at Dear Author:Grimspace by Ann Aguirre.