August 2010

31 Aug

Edit: fixed an error

* * *Books* * *

Books bought / ordered:
Jim Butcher – Captain’s Fury
Jim Butcher – Cursor’s Fury
Kristin Landon – The Dark Reaches
Megan Hart – Deeper
Megan Hart – Naked
Megan Hart – Switch

Books read:
Meljean Brook – Demon Blood (4,5/5)
Megan Hart – Deeper (4,5/5)
Jim Butcher – Academ’s Fury (4-4,5/5)*
Jim Butcher – Captain’s Fury (4-4,5/5)*
Jim Butcher – Cursor’s Fury (4-4,5/5)*
Pam Crooks – The Lawman’s Redemption (3,5/5)
Eloisa James – A Duke of Her Own (3,5/5)
Sophia James – One Unashamed Night (4,5/5)

  • TBR pile: -2 books
  • * I can’t make up my mind again about the grades it seems.
  • a very good month in terms of how much I enjoyed the books I read – no downright “bad” book in sight. Yay!

Favorite novel:
Well, I said I had a good month in terms of how much I liked most of the books but even though, I can’t say I had a favorite. A couple came close, Meljean Brook’s Demon Blood, Megan Hart’s Deeper or Eloisa James’s A Duke of Her Own (very probably my favorite by her so far), but none completely grabbed and convinced me. / Jim Butcher’s Codex Alera series is shaping up to be among my favorite fantasy series.

Favorite quote:

Sunset was only thirty minutes gone when some pissant vampire waylaid Deacon on his way to Theriault’s. One of those younger shits who wrote poetry to Mother Darkness and thought becoming a vampire would make him sparkle.

Meljean Brook, Demon Blood, p. 396

The last sentence in this quote had me LMAO the first time I read it. It still cracks me up whenever I think about it.

New-to-me authors: Pam Crooks, Sophia James

New-to-me authors I would read again: Pam Crooks, Sophia James

* * *Games* * *

Games bought:
Final Fantasy XIII (PS3)

Games played:
Torchlight (PC)
Final Fantasy XIII (PS3)

Comments: Games

3 Responses to “August 2010”

  1. nath Tuesday, August 31, 2010 at 8:52 pm #

    Great recap, Taja!! Okay, why the * next to the Jim Butcher books? I really need to give this series another chance since you’re enjoying them so much 🙂 So how many books left, 2?

    I’m glad you enjoyed Demon Blood 😀 Wasn’t it great? and A Duke of her Own is Leopold’s book right? If it is, I pretty much agree with your grade… but I think Duchess by Night was better 😛 and negative number!! That’s good 🙂

  2. Jace Wednesday, September 1, 2010 at 2:54 am #

    Congrats on a great reading month. 🙂

  3. Taja Thursday, September 2, 2010 at 9:04 am #

    nath – thanks.

    Oh xxxx, I forgot the *! It’s there because I can’t decide with which grade to go. Fixing it right away. / Yes, there are two left.

    I’m already looking forward to the next in Brook’s series. With that number of books already written in the series, that’s a small miracle. Usually I lose interest but she keeps the overall story arc going strong and always comes up with interesting (= no 08/15) characters.

    A Duke of Her Own is Leopold’s book, yes. Duchess by Night started strong but petered out near the end, IMO. (That’s my usual “complaint” about James’s books. The (sole) exception is A Duke of Her Own which is why I call it my favorite. 🙂 ) Also, I don’t like cross-dressing premises very much although it was done quite well in Duchess by Night IMO.

    In case of a TBR pile negative is always good! 😀

    Jace – thanks. I like it when that happens, especially when it follows a not so great reading month. Helps keeping me out of a reading slump. 🙂

Leave a comment