July 2010

1 Aug

Edit: corrected grade

I thought today was the last day of July…Now I’m again stuck with my monthly post posted in the wrong month.

* * *Books* * *

Books bought / ordered:
Meljean Brook – Demon Blood
Jim Butcher – Furies of Calderon
Jim Butcher – Academ’s Fury
Pam Crooks – The Lawman’s Redemption
Cory Doctorow – For the Win
Eloisa James – A Duke of Her Own
Eloisa James – This Duchess of Mine
Sophia James – One Unashamed Night
Lisa Kleypas – Smooth Talking Stranger
Stieg Larsson – The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo

Books read:
Jim Butcher – Furies of Calderon (4,5/5)
Cory Doctorow – For the Win (2,5/5)
Eloisa James – This Duchess of Mine (4/5)
Janice Kay Johnson – Her Sister’s Baby (4/5, maybe 4,5/5)
Lisa Kleypas – Smooth Talking Stranger (4/5)
Stieg Larsson – The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo (2,5/5)
Lucy Monroe – The Shy Bride (3,5/5)
Nalini Singh – Slave to Sensation (3,5/5, re-read)
Nalini Singh – Visions of Heat (3,5/5, re-read)
Nalini Singh – Caressed by Ice (3,5/5, re-read)
LaVyrle Spencer – Sweet Memories (4/5)

Favorite novel:
Furies of Calderon by Jim Butcher- I’m happy to have found a fantasy series think I can like after not having much luck with my last tries. I also renewed my interest in the world building in Singh’s Psy/Changeling series so maybe I’ll get book #4 in the series after all. And surprisingly (because of the baby), I really liked Janice Kay Johnson’s Her Sister’s Baby.

New-to-me authors: Jim Butcher, Cory Doctorow, Stieg Larsson, Lucy Monroe

New-to-me authors I would read again: Jim Butcher, Lucy Monroe

* * *Games* * *

Games bought:
Torchlight (PC)

Games played:
Persona 4 (PS2)
Torchlight (PC)

Comments: Games
Torchlight

8 Responses to “July 2010”

  1. nath Monday, August 2, 2010 at 5:23 am #

    Hmmm, you wrote: Janice Kay Johnson – Her Sister’s Baby (4,5/5, maybe 4,5/5)

    Do you mean 4/5 original or maybe 5/5? LOL.

    I’m so glad you enjoyed Furies of Calderon. I guess liked I said, I need to go back and read them.

    It seems you like the Nalini Singh, just don’t love them. 3.5 is not too bad as a grade πŸ˜› and good job on the reading part πŸ™‚

  2. Taja Monday, August 2, 2010 at 9:42 am #

    nath – LOL Thanks for telling me, I’m going to edit it. πŸ™‚ I meant 4/5 or maybe even 4,5/5. *g*

    Nalini Singh’s Psy/Changeling series – like the world building but I find the characters not all that compelling so the books will probably never be a real hit with me. But 3,5 is not a bad grade, you’re right. πŸ™‚

    Jim Butcher’s Codex Alera series – I’ll try to write a longer comment about the next book in the series than the one I did for Furies of Calderon. I’m really looking forward to it. πŸ™‚ The book, not the comment writing!^^

  3. nath Wednesday, August 4, 2010 at 3:24 am #

    Funny, because I really like the characters by Ms Singh. Ah well, we all have different tastes πŸ˜€

    LOL, sometimes, I catch mistakes and I wonder if I should tell or not… Don’t want to appear nitpicking or something.

  4. Taja Friday, August 6, 2010 at 11:01 am #

    nath – the characters seem too much like part of the world building for me. I tried to explain it some more in my “July 2010 Reads” post.

    *g* I’m sure you catch a lot of mistakes on my blog. And I know confusing grades are the least of them. πŸ˜€ You’re welcome to tell me any time – I wouldn’t think you’re nitpicking or something. Honestly.

  5. Jace Saturday, August 7, 2010 at 6:20 am #

    Very interesting indeed that you rated that Larsson book 2.5! πŸ˜‰ I’ve heard nothing but fantastic things about it. Every bookstore in Kuala Lumpur has this book (and the other 2) on its bestseller list. I haven’t read it, haven’t bought it, haven’t been convinced to try it. πŸ˜‰ I find that I tend to disagree with popular opinions when it comes to books. πŸ˜€

    Great that you’ve enjoyed the Codex Alera. My son would say you’re cool and have fantastic taste! πŸ˜€

    As for the Psy-Changeling series, I read up to Book 3 and decided this series just wasn’t for me. Like you, I found the characters underwhelming. Book 1 was ok, Book 2 was bad, Book 3 was good-great. Just not enough to keep me interested. I liked her Angel series, though. πŸ™‚

  6. Taja Tuesday, August 10, 2010 at 9:28 am #

    Jace – it’s the same here with the Larsson book. Unlike you, I gave in (well, I also thought the story sounded interesting somewhat). Now look what I got for it. πŸ˜‰ I should have known better because like you, I often find myself not liking really popular novels. (See The Name of the Wind by Rothfuss, for example. ) I thought about giving the Larsson novel 3/5 but I also thought it, among other things, needed editing on a large scale, so no. πŸ™‚ Or maybe I just like to be contrary. LOL

    Cool and fantastic taste – woohoo! πŸ˜€

    I never tried the Angel series because I thought the Psy-Changeling series just an okay read. Book 2 gained on re-reading. Before I liked it least of all, now I think the first book is “weaker.” Anyway, maybe I should look into the Angel series after all. πŸ™‚

  7. Christine Friday, August 13, 2010 at 9:31 pm #

    You read a lot in July! Good for you! πŸ™‚

  8. Taja Monday, August 16, 2010 at 9:18 am #

    Christine – well, I didn’t work for three weeks. That’s the result. πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

