July, 29, 2010

29 Jul

Currently Playing

It’s nearly a month now that I quit playing Runes of Magic. A few days ago I read that they improved the account system. It seems it’s now possible to use different passwords for all the accounts you create by signing up for the game + the number of failed logins is restricted now. I don’t miss the game so I won’t go back. Besides, I still have other, equally serious, issues with it so no.

Anyway, I’m playing something else at the moment: Torchlight. It’s a Hack&Slay and looks and feels like the Diablo games but I don’t mind, I love those games. To be able to play an updated version is fun.

Here’s the trailer on youtube:

New Books

Last week I was tempted into buying books because I had a 11%-off coupon available. I wanted to buy much more books actually (for ~ 60€) but I managed to tame my “me-want!” side down to books for 30€. Phew!

Here are the books I bought:

Demon Blood by Meljean Brook

My favorite paranormal series.

Period.

There’s nothing more to say.

Academ’s Fury by Jim Butcher

I really liked Furies of Calderon, the first book in the Codex Alera series. So much that I wanted to read the next one right away. Of course I couldn’t because I never (well, at least I can’t think of an example) order several books of a series before I’ve read at least one book in it. But I was very tempted to order all the remaining books in this series together with Academ’s Fury.

The Lawman’s Redemption by Pam Crooks

I like to read Western romances now and then and this sounded interesting: the hero is “as wild as the fierce Montana landscape he roams”* while the heroine is described as “all fine city clothes and polite manners.”* Plus, I like to try new-to-me authors from time to time.

*from Harlequin’s website

One Unashamed Night by Sophia James

Again, a new-to-me author. What made me take notice of the book is that the hero is described as slowly losing his eyesight. I also liked the excerpt = buy.

Smooth Talking Stranger by Lisa Kleypas**

I like Kleypas’s contemporary voice and so it was only a question of when I would buy this book. I bought it this time because it was the only book I wanted that was in stock. I have to wait around three weeks for the others to arrive in my “me-want!” hands.

**already read

5 Responses to “July, 29, 2010”

  1. nath Thursday, July 29, 2010 at 1:54 pm #

    Well it’s nice you moved on to another game haha 😀 Little done a little too late for Runes.

    Oh, you’re going to love Demon Blood. I did 😛

    I’m glad you enjoyed Furies of Calderon. I think I need to go back and give them another chance.

    One Unashamed Night… Slowly losing his eyesight – I would have bought it too based on that 😀

    so what books did you have to leave out?

  2. Jace Friday, July 30, 2010 at 6:31 am #

    Hey, I’ll be wanting to hear your comments about that Sophia James book. 😀 Sounds intriguing.

    Not buying an entire series at one go is a prudent thing to do. 🙂 At least it is, to me. 😀 However, according to my son, the Jim Butcher fan, the Codex Alera series is entirely awesome. 🙂 I hope you’ll enjoy the rest of it as much as he did.

  3. Taja Saturday, July 31, 2010 at 9:21 am #

    nathRunes – yeah, exactly. Yesterday I received an email from them with a coupon for free ingame items, titled “welcome back.” LOL

    Books left out – the rest of the Codex Alera series of course^^ and the new Eloisa James. And I looked at one or two other books I can’t remember. Might be the ones I saw on your blog “Breezing Through.”

    Good to know you liked Demon Blood! But, does this mean you finally read Irena’s book? 😉

    Jace – I’ll let you know about the SJ book. I’m looking forward to reading it.

    I had the complete Codex Alera series in my shopping cart but that’s 4 more books besides the one I bought and no more room to buy other books if I wanted to spend not too much money, so no. More important, buying such a long series in one swoop just makes me uneasy – lots of potential to go “wrong.” But ATM I’m fairly sure I’ll own the whole series eventually and very likely will like it a lot, maybe even think it “entirely awesome” like your son. 🙂

  4. nath Monday, August 2, 2010 at 5:24 am #

    LOL, no. I just skipped Demon Forged….

  5. Taja Monday, August 2, 2010 at 9:33 am #

    nath – ^^ somehow I knew… 😛

Leave a Reply

