June 2010

1 Jul

* * *Books* * *

Books bought / ordered:
Sue Grafton – R is for Ricochet
Kristin Hardy – The Boss’s Proposal
Susan Hill –The Vows of Silence
Carla Kelly – Marrying the Royal Marine
Derek Landy – Skulduggery Pleasant – The Faceless One
Sarah Mayberry – Her Best Friend
Lucy Monroe – The Shy Bride
LaVyrle Spencer – Sweet Memories

Books read:
Helen Brooks – The Millionaire’s Christmas Wife (3/5)
Teresa Medeiros – Charming the Prince (3,5/5)
Sarah Mayberry – Her Best Friend (4/5)
Robin McKinley – Sunshine (3,5/5)
Patrick Rothfuss – The Name of the Wind (3/5; I plan to write a comment)
Anne Stuart – Fire and Ice (3,5/5; I plan to write comment)
Anne Stuart – Ice Storm (3/5)

  • TBR pile: + 1
  • I think I’m done with novels by Anne Stuart (except maybe one of her older historicals)

Favorite novel: no particular favorite this month

New-to-me authors: Robin McKinley, Patrick Rothfuss

New-to-me authors I would read again: Robin McKinley, (Patrick Rothfuss)

Comment: Books

  • Her Best Friend by Sarah Mayberry
    I enjoyed reading this novel. I liked the characters and the history and connection between Amy and Quinn. They are truly friends and the conflict revolves around the question if it’s worth to risk such a good friendship by admitting to the sexual attraction between them. I also liked that Quinn’s ex wasn’t painted as a bitch. Quinn’s marriage was a love marriage and this wasn’t glossed over, and yet despite that, it didn’t seem like Amy was only second best. How nice. Her Best Friend is a good friends-to-lovers story.

    Funny thing, when I hear Sarah Mayberry I think Blazes. While reading Her Best Friend I often wondered about the “tameness” of the story. The fact that it isn’t a Blaze registered only very late (I was nearly finished with the novel). Doh!

  • Charming the Prince by Teresa Medeiros
    This was one of the first books I bought in my romance reading life. After almost ten years (OMG…), I decided to read it again. The interesting thing to me is that my impression stayed nearly the same. I wasn’t wowed then, I’m not wowed now. I still think it is a well written novel but the humor is still too “silly” for my taste. For example, the heroine and the hero’s children play pranks like putting flour in his helmet to make the hero surrender (or whatever). Fortunately, these episodes don’t take up all of the novel’s pages so I wasn’t “annoyed” to much. Overall, the novel was too light for me, probably because the humor didn’t completely work for me. There are touches of Cinderella in the story and it’s nice that both the hero and the heroine kind of grow (he learns that love isn’t something to fear; she learns to stand up for herself, especially against her step-mother). Charming the Prince was an enjoyable read but there is nothing special that compels me to read it again soon.

* * *Games* * *

Games bought:

Games played:
Runes of Magic (PC)
Persona 4 (PS2)

Comments: Games

4 Responses to “June 2010”

  1. Christine Sunday, July 4, 2010 at 2:25 am #

    First… Congratulations to Germany for beating Argentina!! Wooohoooo! I hope Germany goes all the way and wins the cup. That would be so great! 😀

    Second… Good reading month, Taja! I have a couple of Anne Stuart’s ICE books on the TBR shelf that I got from Mariana. I know you and Carolyn Crane loved Black Ice, so I’m going to read that one at some point for sure.

    I see you finally got to the Rufuss novel. And only a 3/5, huh?
    I see you read Sunshine, too. I really loved it, but it had a very slow middle. I loved the beginning and the end, though. LOL. But it was a bit of an odd story, wasn’t it?

    Hope July is a good reading month for you! And a good football month for your country!!! 😀

  2. Taja Monday, July 5, 2010 at 9:54 am #

    Christine – LOL Thanks! 😀

    Anne Stuart and Black Ice – I’m so afraid my love for this novel was a fluke now. LOL

    Rothfuss – yeah, I’m sorry. I was really looking forward to it and then thought it a major disappointment. 😦

    Sunshine – the beginning was great but there are also lots of “unnecessary” parts in it. The grade is there because I needed one. My problem is: many of the things I really disliked in Rothfuss’s novel are present in Sunshine, too. But I enjoyed reading it more. So what to do? LOL

    Thanks again.

  3. nath Tuesday, July 6, 2010 at 3:51 am #

    Hey Taja 😀

    Haven’t been commenting as much, sorry ^_^;

    You had a pretty good month, no? 🙂 I’m sorry you’re done with Anne Stuart. She’s not really my cup of tea, but it’s always hard to let go of an author… especially when she’s popular, LOL.

    Her Best Friend was a cute book, but I don’t know. Something was off for me. I wished Ames would have moved on earlier… and the villain subplot wasn’t great.

    Looking forward to your commentary on The Name of the Wind 🙂

  4. Taja Tuesday, July 6, 2010 at 10:10 am #

    nath – there’s no need to be sorry! I think I got you beaten on not commenting much. 😛 And honestly, you comment when you want to, and that is fine. 🙂

    The only book by Stuart that was my cup of tea was Black Ice and as I said in my comment to Christine, now I’m afraid it was just a fluke… So it’s not really that hard to let go of her books. 🙂

    I agree about the villain subplot. The turn from competitor to downright villain was unnecessary, except that it probably gave Quinn a chance to show off. But I think the story would have flown more smoothly without that. I remember that I was pulled out of the story a bit because it just didn’t seem to fit.

    I have lots of comments about The Name of the Wind. I “just” need to get them organized and written down. LOL

Leave a Reply

