Reading Troubles And Two Recent Reads

27 Mar

I guess it’s no secret that I have problems to keep this blog going for months now. Honestly, I just can’t think of something to write about. But recently, I suspected this had spread to my reading, too. Too often, I found myself putting books down – sometimes I’m sure through no fault of their own – again and again until I’d finally made it through. The most recent example was Tessa Dare’s Surrender of a Siren I’m sorry to say. It took me one week to read it.

I’m not sure what it is. Am I more cranky at the moment? Easier to distract? Definitely, there is a change going on with how I grade books. The most deciding question now is “Would I like to read the book again?” If not, the book is going to end up with a 3/5 grade; 3,5/5 if I thought some of it interesting in some way.

Surrender of a Siren is a 3,5/5 thanks to its last chapters. Before, I just wasn’t really interested and even thought it somewhat boring. Which is actually weird because I thought the main characters interesting – both are not without flaws – and I liked how the motivation for their actions mirrored each other. The heroine wants to life her passion and flees a life that would offer her respect and security. The hero wants to turn respectable and leave behind his past as a scoundrel. Great stuff for conflict but sadly, I was only caught by it in the last few chapters when things come to a head.

I know most readers loved this novel but I found it much too easy to put down. It might be because of the mood I’m in at the moment. As I said, I often have trouble reading for more than an hour at the moment so I seriously contemplated that (I usually prefer to read a novel in one or two sittings). I can imagine it to influence my enjoyment of a novel if I read it spread over several days. There’s another one I started a few days ago. I’m just a few chapters in. Again, I can’t really say why I find it so easy to put down.

But then again, I had no trouble staying with Karina Bliss’s What the Librarian Did this morning. I read it in one sitting and I enjoyed it a lot. So this kind of shoots down my explanation why I have trouble staying with some books, I think.

What the Librarian Did as a great read for me. I enjoyed the characters and the writing. And – while I thought the conflict overshadowed the romance a bit at times (there’s a lot of stuff packed into this novel) – I really enjoyed how Rachel and Devin interacted with each other. What the Librarian Did offers sparks and a cool librarian. I can definitely see myself reading it again. Which means 4/5 according to my changing way to look at novels. Maybe even 4,5/5 because there was a lot going on and juggling all without neglecting some of it (too much) – not easy.

PS: See how I weaseled myself out of writing a longer comment about novels again? I told you I’m in trouble.

3 Responses to “Reading Troubles And Two Recent Reads”

  1. nath Saturday, March 27, 2010 at 11:56 pm #

    Maybe you’re just not in the mood for historical romance. The past few days, I’ve been picking up books and discarding them 😦 Even my new haul cannot attract me 😦 So something is definitively wrong with me…

    LOL, no need to write long comment when a few lines are enough 😀 You summed it up very well for What the Librarian Did and I agree with you.

    As for blogging, just let us know you’re still alive 😀

  2. Christine Sunday, March 28, 2010 at 11:32 pm #

    Oh no!! I loved Surrender The Siren. I’m sorry you didn’t love it, too. Everyone’s tastes are different, and you’re right, your mood at any given time can play a huge role in what reading material works for you or not.

    As for the blog, do what makes you happy and fits your life at the moment. But whatever you do, don’t fall off the earth on us!!! LOL. We need a “Hi, how’s it going?” post once in a while. 🙂

  3. Taja Tuesday, March 30, 2010 at 9:42 am #

    nath – thanks, I try to throw something together once a week to signal I’m still around somewhat. I really hope I can get back to blogging properly soon. I miss it and yet can’t do it. Weird, eh?

    And you’re right about the historicals. I read quite a few recently so maybe it’s just that. I hope you find a book that interests you soon. 🙂

    Oh, a new haul? I must go and look! 😉

    Christine – thanks. See my reply to nath for more. 🙂

    SURRENDER OF A SIREN – I know you loved it. And it’s probably me, not the book because I can’t say what’s “wrong” with it for me. I loved the writing, for example. As I said to nath, too many historicals maybe. *shrug*

Leave a Reply

