I’m A Scaredy-Pants or: Playing “Bioshock” (PS3)

23 Mar

Bioshock is a first-person shooter. I usually don’t play this kind of game – I nearly always have trouble with the controls (probably because I’m slow) plus I’m a wuss. Which means, if I play one, I usually need more than double the time than other players. But Bioshock comes highly recommended for its story, the Boyfriend was interested, too, and it was on sale – so we bought it last month.

I took a look at it on the weekend.

Bioshock takes place in Rapture. Rapture is a city under the sea. Basically, it’s a city without rules for science, art, industry… Everything goes. You’re playing a survivor of a plane crash. The game starts with your character adrift at sea. You see a lighthouse in the distance. You go up to it and, with no other way to go, you enter the lift in the building and go down. And end up in a utopia gone wrong.

Right away, my wuss-factor kicked in. I heard voices that signal that I’m not alone. And because it’s a shooter, I know that most of those voices belong to beings who aren’t all that friendly. So I inch forward, take seconds to shore up the courage to turn a corner, and then I’m still startled when something jumps at me. As I said, I’m a scaredy-pants. This of course means I bungle the controls and get hit. Even better are the times when I finally turn a corner and find – nothing.

But even though I’ve only played a few hours, there’s something to this game. It has a great atmosphere and I like the philosophical background. It also has a puzzle element that I like. I’m also expecting a few twists (I just know there have to be some with this story) so I’m going to inch forward with the game. And I’m already scared as hell because I know I eventually will have to go up against a Big Daddy – a kind of protector for “little girls” (the bubble headed thing in the trailer). These Big Daddies can turn nasty as hell. When I went looking for a trailer for this post, I came upon one that showed a fight against a Big Daddy. The way this Big Daddy used its drill – sick. The game isn’t rated “Mature” for nothing.

Bioshock – rated M

Here’s the beginning that details more about the vision behind Rapture:

And here’s the launch trailer, showing mostly Big Daddies (not the one I talked about above):

6 Responses to “I’m A Scaredy-Pants or: Playing “Bioshock” (PS3)”

  1. nath Thursday, March 25, 2010 at 1:47 am #

    LOL, I so rarely play to this type of games, Taja! At least, it doesn’t look very bloody.

  2. Taja Thursday, March 25, 2010 at 3:18 pm #

    nath – not sure about the bloody thing…but I’m sure I can only play these kind of games in small doses. Much too thrilling for me otherwise. *g*

  3. Christine Friday, March 26, 2010 at 4:04 pm #

    WOW!! Am I in the right place?? LOL
    You changed your layout!!! OMG I LOVE IT!!!! It looks great. I so love the colors and fonts and everything. Very cool. πŸ˜€

    As for this Bioshock game? I got 1 minute into the trailer and no way. You should see how worked up I get playing something so mundane as Rock Band. There’s no way I could keep myself together to play that game. LOL.

  4. Taja Saturday, March 27, 2010 at 5:01 pm #

    Christine – LOL! Thanks. Definitely not as yellow as before. *g* Jace called the look “emo” – liked that. I love the colors and the fonts, too, but I still think it doesn’t scroll smoothly.

    So did you watch the BIOSHOCK trailer to its end? πŸ˜› You should have seen how long it took me to inch down the stairs to the elevator in the beginning. I so didn’t want to go there. LOL

    As for playing – I usually can play around one hour then I stop. Too nerve-wracking for me. LOL But sometimes I like this kind of thrill. And I can get worked up playing GUITAR HERO very easily, too, so maybe you should give BIOSHOCK a chance. πŸ˜‰

  5. Christine Sunday, March 28, 2010 at 11:36 pm #

    I did NOT watch the BIOSHOCK trailer to its end. *is a wimp* LOL!
    I’d rather get my thrills elsewhere, thank you very much. πŸ˜›

    Oh! I thought of you the other day when I came up from the basement and Anna informed me with a shriek that there was a bug crawling on me and it was a HUGE spider. I’m talking black, plump, juicy, long legs slowly crawling over my shoulder. HUGE. At least 3cm. I don’t know about you, but to me, that’s HUGE. *shiver*

  6. Taja Tuesday, March 30, 2010 at 9:31 am #

    Christine – ROFL! You know me too well. I would have freaked out with that beast on my shoulder. Then probably even collapsed. And of course, going to the basement would have been out of the question for several weeks at least.

    Nice description! πŸ˜€ Just reading it gives me the thrills. No need for Bioshock. πŸ˜‰ I still would be shivering now if that had happened to me and I hope you’re doing better. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

