February 2010

28 Feb

* * *Books* * *

Books bought / ordered:
Jennifer Crusie – The Cinderella Deal
Tessa Dare – Surrender to a Siren, A Lady of Persuasion
Laura Kinsale – Lessons in French
Kate Lyon – Destiny’s Captive

Books read:
Meljean Brook – Demon Forged (4,5/5)
Jennifer Crusie – The Cinderella Deal (4,5/5)

  • I liked it, especially how Daisy saw life in stories, how she saw her role changing depending upon whose story she’s in at the moment, what her own story is and how it fits in with all that.

Larissa Ione Snowbound (4/5)
Kate Lyon – Destiny’s Captive (3/5)

  • I’m sorry to say this novel just didn’t work for me. (I think about writing a longer comment)
  • TBR pile: + 1 book

Favorite novel:
Demon Forged by Meljean Brook

New-to-me authors:

New-to-me authors I would read again:

* * *Games* * *

Games bought:
Bioshock (PS3)

Games played:
Runes of Magic (PC)
Persona 4 (PS3)

Comments: Games

5 Responses to “February 2010”

  1. Wendy Sunday, February 28, 2010 at 7:45 pm #

    Yeah, sadly Destiny’s Captive didn’t work well for me either – and I was so looking forward to that book! One thing I do enjoy about Lyon’s books though is that she really does a great job with the history, and weaving in “real life” historical figures into her books.

    Our delivery guys have been backed-up all week, so I’m still waiting on a library copy of Surrender Of A Siren to hit my desk!

  2. nath Monday, March 1, 2010 at 6:50 pm #

    +1 only? That’s great!! 😀

    I’m glad you enjoyed both Demon Forged and The Cinderella Deal… I haven’t read Demon Forget yet, as you know, but I’m planning to 🙂

    I’m really happy you enjoyed The Cinderella Deal 🙂 Daisy really made the book. Did you ever read Strange Bedpersons? I’m curious to see what you’d think of that one 😉

  3. Taja Monday, March 1, 2010 at 7:31 pm #

    Wendy – I was looking forward to it, too! I’d really liked Hope’s Captive and then Destiny’s Captive felt rather different. I thought the prologue promising but sadly it went downhill from there for me. But I agree, Lyon is good with history. I thought of that as one of the few “positives” of DC.

    I’ll keep my fingers crossed for Surrender of a Siren to hit your desk soon!

    nath – Actually, it should be +2! I forgot I’d bought Snowbound in February, too. LOL

    I think I read Strange Bedpersons but I actually can’t remember it. *g* So it wouldn’t hurt to read it again especially because I was intrigued that you mentioned it in your comment about TCD. (And of course that I can’t seem to remember SB. *cough*)

    I’m looking forward to reading your thoughts about Demon Forged! (no pressure, though 🙂 )

  4. nath Wednesday, March 3, 2010 at 2:47 am #

    LOL, I’ll read Demon Forged eventually, just no idea when 🙂

  5. Taja Thursday, March 4, 2010 at 8:11 pm #

    It seems I don’t own Strange Bedpersons (which means I haven’t read it). I was so sure TCD was the only title by Crusie I hadn’t read yet (not counting her collaborations). LOL

Leave a Reply

