Currently Reading: “Demon Forged” By Meljean Brook

19 Feb


Meljean Brook’s Guardian is my favorite paranormal romance series. Interesting characters, interesting story, and I love the writing. I know all that and yet when I’m reading one I’m always surprised by how much I like the novels in this series and then I’m always asking myself why I waited so long to read the next in the series. Strange, isn’t it?

Demon Forged is no exception. I had it in my TBR pile for some months now.

For example, I liked this:

“You know nothing, Olek. She continues to live not because I think she is good, but because she poses no threat to anyone.”
“Lilith, no threat?” You either lie or have become a spitting fool.”
Irena swung around, and found him closer than she’d expected. Too close. She planted her feet. It would not be she who backed away. “I am a fool and a liar? If you truly believed her a threat, you’d have finished her.”
“No threat to us.” Alejandro stared down at her over his aristocratic nose. He’d vanished the nosferatu’s blood from his skin and clothes; hers were still streaked and splattered with crimson.
She bared her teeth in a smile. “Us? Perhaps not to me.”
“Us, the Guardians.” He lowered his mouth to her ear, and added softly, “There has been no us for four hundred years. You know that, yet observe how easily you twisted my meaning. You say in one moment that Lilith is no threat, then say she is a threat to me. Your tongue might as well be a demon’s.” (36/37)

I love how Alejandro points out the contradiction in what Irena says and yet I understand why Irena says it.

Or this:

Taylor ran flat-out to keep up with the Guardian’s trot. What was this one’s name? She couldn’t remember, only that she carried two wicked huge knives and dressed like a blacksmith stripper with a fur fetish and a deep appreciation for Daniel Day-Lewis’s leather stocking in The Last of the Mohicans. (91)

The part about Irena’s deep appreciation for Daniel Day-Lewis leather stocking just cracks me up. I also had an immediate picture in my mind. And I also really like that Taylor, a human, has to run flat-out whereas Irena, a Guardian, just needs to trot. It’s just a tiny detail but it shows the differences between humans and Guardians and so adds to characterization.

The two quotes are not the most “special” or “important” in the story, but they are good examples of why I like the writing and the way the novels are written in this series.

5 Responses to “Currently Reading: “Demon Forged” By Meljean Brook”

  1. Christine Friday, February 19, 2010 at 7:11 pm #

    Ahhh! I’m so jealous you’re reading this one. I love this series too… but am afraid I’m TWO books behind. I still have to read DEMON BOUND! ARgh! I gotta fix that!

    Yeah, Meljean is super duper talented. Love her stuff. 🙂

  2. Christine Friday, February 19, 2010 at 7:11 pm #

    p.s. Nice bookmark. I recognize a certain special someone’s handiwork! 😉

  3. Taja Friday, February 19, 2010 at 8:40 pm #

    Christine – yeah, you really should. I love her stuff, too. And obviously, I love the stuff of a “certain special someone” as well. I really like using her bookmarks. 😀

  4. nath Friday, February 19, 2010 at 10:56 pm #

    I still need to read this book. Sigh. I don’t know, I want to… but at the same time, I don’t want to ^_^; And everyone is saying how good this book is.

  5. Taja Saturday, February 20, 2010 at 10:05 am #

    nath – I don’t like that feeling, either. It sucks. And I’m sorry I added to your problem with this post. I’m sure that one day you’ll feel like reading it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

