Nothing To Say

26 Jan

I have nothing to say but I feel like I should post because the longer I stay away from the blog, the harder it gets to get back to posting. So here goes:

I’ve read three books:

  • Seducing Simon by Maya Banks
    I was hoping for a nice unrequited-love story but it turned out to be a story with more than a whiff of secret-baby-Harlequin-Presents style. (3/5)
  • Fallen by Claire Delacroix
    Liked the setting and the world + the mystery. It also had two WTFs. (4/5)
  • In the Midnight Hour by Patti O’Shea
    I nearly put the book down in the beginning (too “flimsy”) but it turned out to be a decent read after all. Mostly thanks to the hero, Deke, who wasn’t a jerk with a capital J and a rather interesting mystery about a curse. (3,5/5)

I started two books but put them down after a few pages/chapters.

  • The first one had a heroine who has to save the day. That is, her mother is into “borrowing” other people’s things and the heroine has to return them at night (year 1848). She also has to manage the household. – Wasn’t in the mood for that.
  • The second one has a heroine who catches her husband “cheating” on her with his secretary in his office. Three problems: 1) he has his shirt off, yes, but he hasn’t his xxx up her xxx; he hasn’t even his pants down. The secretary is lounging on the table. 2) She readily believes the lies the secretary tells her but she doesn’t believe her husband. He has a motive – cheating – but the secretary of course doesn’t have one for lying. 3) Ten months later she still hasn’t really talked to him. She’s also still married to him. – Wasn’t in the mood for that.

In the Midnight Hour nearly got tossed (among other things) because the heroine is too stingy to buy a new bowl despite that she actually doesn’t have the right bowl for a very important spell. She’s all “this has to go exactly right” and “this is so important” and then she doesn’t get the right bowl even though she has the money for it? But then again, the ceremony also calls for being outside – naked – and she skips that, too. Yep, I can see that this is one important spell, easily screwed up, and that this woman is a mighty responsible one.

Or maybe I’m just cranky and it’s me and not the books.

4 Responses to “Nothing To Say”

  1. nath Wednesday, January 27, 2010 at 4:39 am #

    Happy to hear from you taja 😀

    I’m glad you stuck with In the Midnight Hour. Patti O’Shea is one of my favorite authors… her earlier books are great… I like the Power of Two and Through the Crimson Veil… great chemistry and interaction between the H/H. I thought In the Midnight Hour was so-so… but luckily, the series is gradually getting better and better 😀

    The first book you put down sounded interesting. Was is it?

  2. Taja Wednesday, January 27, 2010 at 10:20 am #

    nath – hi 🙂

    I didn’t know that O’Shea was one of your favorite authors but I heard about her earlier books. Maybe I should look into them. I thought O’Shea showed the connection between the H/H in Midnight Hour rather well, especially when compared to Fallen by Delacroix. The romance in that novel didn’t really convince me.

    The first book I put down – Double Enchantment by Kathryne Kennedy. *g* I only read the first chapter so my comment doesn’t tell you much about the book but at that moment, I had no interest whatsoever to read about a heroine running around London at night, returning “burrowed” items, and feeling responsible for her parents (which I thought I was going to get in parts). I’m going to give it another try when I’m less cranky. 😀

  3. Christine Wednesday, January 27, 2010 at 11:29 pm #

    I’m glad you posted. And what do you mean you don’t have anything to say? You still managed to write a post, right? 😛

    I’ve always wanted to read FALLEN but just never got around to buying it or reading it (obviously). That’s still promising that you gave it a 4/5 despite two WTFs.

  4. Taja Sunday, January 31, 2010 at 4:10 pm #

    Christine – lol, yeah, but it’s so “blah blah blah” IMO. I just feel like I have nothing to say and I don’t like that. 🙂

    The WTFs pulled me out of the story. I really liked the setting/story so the two WTFs had much more impact than otherwise probably. Go and give Fallen a try.

Leave a Reply

