Something To Read With

3 Jan

The Boyfriend really surprised me for Christmas. He got me this:

Sony Reader PRS-505

I was SQUEE! and YIKES! and WORRY! at the same time. I couldn’t believe it.

Squee because it’s totally cool and because I haven’t looked at the Sony Reader in months.

Yikes because now I need to start bothering with all the different formats available for ebooks and in which format best to buy.

Worry because I have no idea where to buy my ebooks. Yes, there are online bookshops in my country that sell ebooks, even some ebooks in English. But form a cursory look a few days ago, the books seem more expensive than their paperbook editions and the selection is small. I guess I need to look into UK bookshops to get ebooks in English. I don’t think I’ll have much luck with shops based in North America because of regional rights which is really a bummer.

But I managed to load all the free ebooks I collected over the last few years on my Sony Reader. There are now over 60 books (romance, fantasy, science fiction mostly) on it. That should keep me for a while.

So for now, I concentrate on the cool. In a few days/weeks, I’ll concentrate on finding out about formats and all those other pesky details. And then I’ll worry about where to buy my ebooks.

The 60+ ebooks I have should keep until then. That is I hope they’ll keep because honestly, I love reading on my Sony Reader.

10 Responses to “Something To Read With”

  1. Jace Sunday, January 3, 2010 at 6:25 pm #

    Congratulations! πŸ˜€ Stop worrying so much and enjoy! πŸ˜€

    I’ve been eyeing an ebook reader too, only I can’t decide between the Sony and the Cybook. I think I won’t be able to buy ebooks with the Sony … I know some users in Singapore have encountered this problem.

    Anyway, enjoy the ebooks you already have and let tomorrow take care of itself. πŸ˜€

  2. Wendy Sunday, January 3, 2010 at 9:48 pm #

    Yippeeee! I love my Sony 505 and it’s still going strong after 3 years. (Heee – and it was also a gift from my boyfriend). Enjoy!

  3. nath Sunday, January 3, 2010 at 10:10 pm #

    See, that’s why I need to get a boyfriend, for the cool gifts!! LOL πŸ™‚

    Lucky you, it looks awesome πŸ˜€

  4. KristieJ Monday, January 4, 2010 at 5:00 am #

    My youngest sister got a new ereader for Christmas and gave her old one to my other sister. I didn’t say anything and I think it’s safe to say it here -but I was SO jealous!! I wanted it!! *g*

  5. Taja Tuesday, January 5, 2010 at 10:47 am #

    Jace – LOL, thanks and you’re right.

    I’m glad the decision was taken out of my hands. I don’t think I could have decided either (after I got over the prices and decided that wouldn’t matter, that is. *g*)

    It sucks that you have reason to think you won’t be able to buy ebooks with a Sony Reader. Why would it work with some readers but not with others? Really, there are some weird things going on with ebooks (and why I worried about where to buy them in the future / if I can buy the ones I want.)

    PS: I see you found a (momentary ?) solution for reading ebooks. *g*

    Wendy – Despite some of the things I wrote in my post, I’m enjoying my Sony Reader a lot. It’s really cool to have an ebook reader. On my own, I never would have bought one so yeah!

    nath – LOL.

    Boyfriends are quite handy to have around for other things, too. And if you’re lucky, they are as awesome as a Sony Reader. πŸ˜‰

    Kristie – oh no, that sucks! I understand you being jealous and wanting it.

  6. Carolyn Crane Tuesday, January 5, 2010 at 6:59 pm #

    Congrats!! I have this, too! And I love it. And, so I guess you don’t have access to Sony Reader’s store? How frustrating!!! I go for the PDF versions when I buy. It always works out great.

    So, our twinnage continues. You know, I also had Duran as one of my year faves. (BOUND!) Haven’t yet read Written OYS.

    Happy New Year!

  7. Christine Wednesday, January 6, 2010 at 8:28 pm #

    Congratulations! That’s a really awesome gift, Taja! I’m sure you’re going to have so much fun with it. I hope you’re able to get the books you like at decent prices. The whole regional rights for books being sold around the world is confusing. I don’t understand why you can’t buy ebooks from ANYWHERE at one price. Digital information is digital information. Why does it cost different amounts to different people?

    Enjoy!

  8. Taja Thursday, January 7, 2010 at 6:20 pm #

    Carolyn – I haven’t tried the Sony Store yet but based on what I read on a forum here, it won’t work. At least, not without applying some workarounds.

    More twinnage: I have yet to read Written on Your Skin, too. I’ve been eyeing it for the last two weeks.

    Happy New Year to you, too!

    Christine – oh, I’m enjoying my reader, no worries! But xxxx, I really wish I could just buy the books I want without having to search several stores for it and then hoping that I’l lbe able to download the thing.

  9. ~ames~ Sunday, January 10, 2010 at 10:57 pm #

    Great gift and what a thoughtful boyfriend!

    I usually get pdfs or epubs when I buy books for my sony. Also, would you be able to access Books on Board’s UK site?

  10. Taja Tuesday, January 12, 2010 at 9:43 am #

    ames – yeah, I think so too. πŸ™‚

    pdfs and epubs, that’s good to know. Thanks. I already found the Books on Board’s UK site. I won’t have problems buying books there. But probably converting € into Β£. ^^

Leave a Reply

