Books And Games 2009

31 Dec

Books

According to my spreadsheet, I read 86 books this years. I probably missed one or two but all the same, it would still be less than year. Considering my “slump” the last few months, it’s not surprising though.

Favorite novel 2009

Looking at the grades and leaving aside the re-reads, there are two novels I graded 5/5:

  • Anne Stuart – Black Ice (2005)
  • Meredith Duran – Bound By Your Touch (2009)

Like last year, a novel by Meredith Duran is in the running for my favorite novel of the year. Like last year, her novel was published that year whereas the other novel was not. And like last year, I’m going to name the other novel as my favorite novel of the year. Reason: I still remember reading it so vividly.

So my favorite novel 2009:

Black Ice by Anne Stuart

(Here’s what I wrote back then.)

~ * * * ~

Reading Challenges

TBR Challenge hosted by Keishon

I missed two out of twelve dates for this challenge. Which means, I managed to read ten out of twelve possible books. Overall, I read some good books in this challenge. I read some books who are favorite with many readers but didn’t really work for me, like Connie Brockway’s All Through the Night for example. I read some books I thought well written and saw the appeal but which still didn’t end up on my favorite list, like Suzanne Brockmann’s The Unsung Hero for example. I read some books by authors I’ve already read. I read some books whose authors where new to me and are now on my list of authors to read. And yes, I read some books that didn’t work for me at all.

Overall and although I missed it two times, I had a lot of fun with this challenge and I thought the monthly themes added a nice twist to the whole challenge. I found interesting new authors and I enjoyed myself.

Thanks to Keishon for coming up with the idea and organizing this challenge!

Re-Read Challenge hosted by nath

My sign-up for this challenge was the first time I ever posted on nath’s blog and I think it was a good idea. I had lots of fun with this challenge and I only missed one out of twelve dates for this challenge. I’m also happy to say that most of my favorite novels stood the test of time for me although I wasn’t brave enough to tackle the novel I think of as my favorite romance novel and which I only read one time for fear of finding it lacking the second time: Black Silk by Judith Ivory.

Maybe some day.

When I look at the novels I read for this challenge, I think for a re-read, I prefer a fun and humorous story to a more somber novel although I’m usually more interested in the latter when I think about buying a novel. Go figure.

Overall, a fun and interesting challenge, one I enjoyed very much.

Thanks to nath for coming up with the idea and organizing this challenge!

~ * * * ~

Games

I can’t say I have a favorite game this year. I played less than usual and I finished less games than usual.

2009 was the year I made real steps in my online gaming.

  • There’s the browser game I started in 2008 and still play: I joined a guild in February this year. My character is still doing good. She went from #1000 the last time I mentioned her to #163 in the ranking (status this afternoon).

  • And there’s Runes of Magic, a MMORPG. I started to play that several months ago and I still have fun although some of my worries about what could bother me have been confirmed. Anyway, I have three characters, a mage/priest (level 51/49), a priest/knight (41/39) and a scout/priest (level 20-30), and I joined a guild with my mage/priest character two months back.

    (No pics here due to the problems with our video card/computer – I can’t play at the moment).

~ * * * ~

HAPPY NEW YEAR 2010!

6 Responses to “Books And Games 2009”

  1. nath Thursday, December 31, 2009 at 11:39 pm #

    You’re welcome, Taja πŸ˜€ Many have enjoyed the re-read challenge and I’m glad πŸ˜€

    Wasn’t Black Silk just re-print… is this the novel where the heroine is named Submit?

  2. Adam Friday, January 1, 2010 at 12:51 am #

    Great post Thank you.

  3. Jace Friday, January 1, 2010 at 5:47 am #

    Hey, 86 books read isn’t shabby at all! And you did good on the challenges too. πŸ™‚ Wish I could say the same for myself. πŸ˜‰ And look … Bebedora did very well too. πŸ˜€ Great job for 2009!

  4. Taja Friday, January 1, 2010 at 12:17 pm #

    nath – yes, you’re right about the re-print and the heroine’s name. πŸ™‚ I know that sometimes I’m silly with re-reading. You’re challenge helped there! πŸ˜€

    Adam – thanks.

    Jace – thanks. πŸ™‚ Challenges or not, I know you did well in 2009, too. Recovering from a big reading slump + venturing into new fields with your crafting. That’s not shabby either!

    Bebedora is pleased as well – with you and herself. *g*

  5. Christine Wednesday, January 6, 2010 at 8:31 pm #

    86 books ROCKS! I love Duran’s writing and am not at all surprised that BOUND BY YOUR TOUCH was one of your favorites. She has another novel coming out in 2010 titled WICKED BECOMES YOU. I think it’s due out in April. I can’t wait.

    Happy New Year to you, my friend.
    xoxo

  6. Taja Thursday, January 7, 2010 at 6:11 pm #

    Christine – Happy New Year to you, too!

    I still have to read Written on Your Skin by Duran. I should manage it before April, I think. πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

