October, 15, 2009

15 Oct

Currently Reading

Garnett, Juliana - The Scotsman

Juliana Garnett – The Scotsman

I started Juliana Garnett’s The Scotsman yesterday and I’m now on page 59. So far, it looks like another good read, maybe even better than her novel The Vow which I read recently. But I thought Juliana Garnett a good writer then so that’s not really a surprise for me.

The Scotsman is another medieval romance – yay! – and takes place on the Scottish Borderlands. It’s the time of Robert the Bruce and the Scottish battle for Independence. Catherine is the daughter of the English Earl of Warfield and Alexander Fraser’s younger brother was taken hostage by Warfield. Alex wants to get his brother back (he’s all the family he has left) and while he explores the surroundings of Warfield’s castle, he stumbles upon Catherine. When he realizes who the woman is, he takes her captive. He hopes to make a bargain with Warfield and exchange her for his brother. Only problem: Warfield holds his daughter in very low regard. She’s just a woman and as such has no use to him, especially compared to the use Alex’s brother gives him as leverage against the Scots.

The premise is familiar but Garnett makes it come alive. The hatred between Scots and English seems very real. If Catherine and Alex want to be together, they will have to overcome years of believing the other the worst kind of people. In fact, before they will think about being together, they first must overcome this to actually be able to fall in love with the other. And although they are attracted to each other nearly right away, it doesn’t look that they mistake this for love.

I think there are good times ahead!

Other things

  • Owens, Robin D - Heart FateWhen I ordered my books on the weekend, I also looked at Robin D. Owens Heart Fate, book #7 in her Celta HeartMates series. It’s a funny thing with this series. There is much that annoys me with it and yet, I still like to read it. I was especially looking forward to reading Tinne’s story because he was a secondary character in nearly all the books before.
    Heart Fate was published last year but as it cost more than 10 €, I decided to wait. I very very rarely am willing to spend more than 10 € on a book. So when I looked again this weekend, it was still around 10€. Huh? I had thought that there would be a second edition by now, comparable in price to the ones they published before. So real bummer, still no Heart Fate for me.
  • Once again I deleted a huge amount of marked posts in my feed reader (posts I wanted to read or maybe even leave a comment). When will I learn that I very rarely look at marked posts again?
9 Responses to “October, 15, 2009”

  1. Christine Thursday, October 15, 2009 at 9:56 pm #

    This does sound like a common plot … but one I really love. Looking forward to your thoughts.

    I’ve had my eye out on the HeartMates series for a long time, but was always deterred by the investment I’d need to make to start reading it now. I’m going to keep my eye out for it at the libraries.

  2. nath Friday, October 16, 2009 at 5:39 pm #

    10€ is insanely pricey for a book!!! Seriously, no wonder you’re not willing to buy it… Perhaps you should try Book Depository – you’d save money and shipping is free!

    I read one or two books in this series… and I’m wavering… Don’t know if I should read more or not. Tempted, but not sure ^_^;

  3. Taja Saturday, October 17, 2009 at 8:31 am #

    Christine – yeah, it’s a common plot for a Scottish medieval/historical but I enjoy Garnett’s take on it because the mentalities and sentiments seem truer to the time than usual.

    HeartMates series – as I said, it’s funny with this series because I wouldn’t recommend it whole-heartedly. There are some things that could annoy a reader considerably IMO so it’s best to just try for yourself. Maybe you get lucky at the library. I would love to hear your thoughts!

    nath – yeah, it’s what a trade paperback usually costs here. My problem with it is that I can get 2 mmp or 3 category novels for that amount of money. In addition, there’s no way I pay that kind of money for a book in a series I’m actually not sure why I keep reading it. In fact, I think the only author I don’t mind to pay that much for is Megan Hart. All others – very very difficult.

    As for the series, see my comment to Christine. Maybe I should read the first one in the series again for your challenge to see why I keep going back. *g*

  4. Jace Sunday, October 18, 2009 at 7:28 am #

    I’m glad you’re enjoying The Scotsman. Would you believe that I haven’t read it yet? 😀

    I just picked up Marillier’s Heir To Sevenwaters yesterday! Yeeeeehaaaaw!!! I’m going to read Cybele’s Secret first (sequel to Wildwood Dancing) then I’ll take my time and savour HTS. 😀

  5. Taja Sunday, October 18, 2009 at 12:15 pm #

    Jace – now I know why I waited! 😀

    Congrats on getting Marillier’s Heir to Sevenwaters. Happy, happy reading! I’m a bit jealous but at least, I ordered my copy already. So it’s only a matter of a few more weeks, LOL.

  6. Keishon Tuesday, October 20, 2009 at 7:43 pm #

    Rats. You’ve pushed me over. I soooo wanted to read this but wasn’t sure. Will go ahead and get. You, book pimp pusher, you *shaking fist*

  7. Taja Wednesday, October 21, 2009 at 11:00 pm #

    Keishon – I’m actually not completely sure which book you’re talking about but making someone get a book is always a good thing I think. So I have no problem to be a book pimp pusher.

    Although…hmm, if you won’t like the book… *looks at fist* *ducks*

  8. Keishon Saturday, October 24, 2009 at 4:25 am #

    Juliana Garnett – The Scotsman <——this one! I think I bought the paperback sometime ago, unsure. But I've heard great things about Garnett's book. I think she wrote another book that I enjoyed under a different pen name? Maybe. Like Virginia – something? Virginia Brown?

  9. Taja Saturday, October 24, 2009 at 10:16 am #

    Keishon – yeah, that’s the one I thought you meant but because it’s oop I wasn’t sure (there’s a Kindle edition though!)

    I hadn’t heard of this author (probably her books are oop now) until a few months ago. A friend recommended her. Good thing! I like Garnett’s voice and the authentic feel of her stories a lot.

    Pen name – I have no idea but…hmm, interesting. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

