October, 10, 2009

10 Oct

Why is it that when I finally feel like reading again I don’t have the time and when I don’t feel like it I have the time?

There’s something wrong.

Ah well, at least I did manage to finish Juliana Garnett’s The Vow this week – liked it! – and I’m looking forward to reading more of her novels. Actually, I want to write about this novel so let’s see when I find the time.

New books

have a 5-Euro-off coupon valid until today (buy for 25 €, get 5 € off).

Here are the books I need to decide between:

  • Meljean Brook – Demon Forged
  • Tessa Dare – Goddess of the Hunt
  • Claire Delacroix – Fallen
  • Elysa Hendricks – Enchanting the Beast
  • Eloisa James When the Duke Returns
  • Kathryne Kennedy – Enchanting the Beast
  • Juliet Marillier – Heir to Sevenwaters
  • Sue-Ellen Welfonder – Devil in a Kilt

It’s good that I still have a few hours left.

Currently Playing

Runes of Magic

Yes, I’m still playing.

I do this despite the fact that

  • I have very annoying technical issues ever since they released chapter 2 (low fps, often high ping) – I might quit playing because of that.
  • I’m also getting a clearer view of what “free-to-play” means in this game (highly favoring players who use the cash shop) – I might quit playing because of that when my character has a high enough level for this to become relevant.

But at the moment, I’m still with it.

Disgaea 3 - Absence of Justice
Disgaea 3 – Absence of Justice (PS3)

I loved the first one in this series, Disgaea – Hour of Darkness. Like the first one, Disgaea 3 is a turn-based strategy game. The gameplay is similar, too.

You’re playing Mao, a student at the Netherworld Academy of Evil and son of the Overlord (Dean of the Academy). Good and Evil is turned around in this world: being an honor students means to be cruel and evil. As an honor student, you don’t do your homework; in fact, you don’t even attend classes. Things like that are for the delinquents to do.

Mao is a top-of-the-class honor student. He also wants to defeat his father because…his father accidentally destroyed all Mao’s save games (several millions hours worth of playing video games). Mao researches the matter of how to go about overthrowing his father with comic books, mangas and animes. And video games of course. His solution: get the title of a hero.

Important characters so far: Mao, a hero (Almaz) who lost his title and has only a few hours left before he turns into a full demon (at the moment, he’s at the cosplay demon stage), the badass delinquent Rasberyl, and Mao’s most devoted servant.

The humor in Disgaea 3 is rather self-referential and I have a lot of fun playing it. The chances are good that I’ll like Disgaea 3 as much as the first one.

11 Responses to “October, 10, 2009”

  1. Jace Sunday, October 11, 2009 at 8:04 am #

    Now I know how you always get that 5-Euro discount coupon. 😀 As for the books, most definitely get that Marillier one. 🙂

  2. Taja Sunday, October 11, 2009 at 10:07 am #

    Jace – I will definitely get Marillier’s book. 😀 And Meljean Brook. I think Heir to Sevenwaters is not yet released. (?)

  3. nath Monday, October 12, 2009 at 2:47 am #

    It’s always like that, LOL 🙂 We don’t read because we don’t feel like it and then when we feel like it, no time. I’m having the same thing happening and it’s very annoying. hope you get more time soon 😀

    and great new buys 😀 hope you enjoy Demon Forged 😀

  4. Elysa Hendricks Monday, October 12, 2009 at 3:19 pm #

    Sometimes I don’t feel like reading, but not often. I have books everywhere in the house – the bedroom, the living room, the kitchen and the bathroom – just so when I have a spare second I can read. I highly recommend you read MY book THE SWORD AND THE PEN. It’ll provide a bit of insight into the mind of a writer and is a darn fine story (if I do say so myself). 🙂
    Elysa

  5. KristieJ Monday, October 12, 2009 at 5:28 pm #

    The only one of the books you’ve listed that I’ve read is Goddess of the Hunt – but that one gets a thumbs up from me *g*.

  6. Jace Monday, October 12, 2009 at 6:08 pm #

    Heir To Sevenwaters is out in paperback this month! 😀 Yay!!! I CAN’T WAIT!

    Oh, do you know Marillier has another book out in October (if I’m not mistaken)? This is a new one in hardcover calledHearts Blood, which has a Beauty-And-The-Beast storyline. I don’t think I can wait another 6 months for the paperback so I may buy the hardcover the moment it hits the shelf. 😀

    After reading the Sevenwaters Trilogy, I couldn’t get Marillier out of my blood, so I HAD to read something else by her! Which explained why I was at the bookstore picking up Wildwood Dancing. 😀 It’s a YA fairy-tale; I liked it very much. I’ll be buying its (loose) sequel, Cybele’s Secret next. 😀

  7. Christine Monday, October 12, 2009 at 11:47 pm #

    Oh, Tessa Dare’s The Goddess of the Hunt! I LOVED it. In fact, I just finished the second one, Surrender of a Siren and loved it very much as well. Thankfully, I already bought the next one and started it as soon as I closed the second! The third is titled Lady of Persuasion. Tessa Dare is my new auto buy historical romance author. 😀

    I sent you a special email a few minutes ago…. Happy Belated Birthday, my friend. *chocolate cupcakes* xoxo

  8. Taja Tuesday, October 13, 2009 at 9:32 am #

    nath – let’s hope we both find more time to read soon. I’m starting to get antsy. *g* I’m rather sure I’ll like Demon Forged

    Elysa Hendricks – It doesn’t happen often that I don’t feel like reading, but when it does I get anxious fast. I don’t like the feeling.

    “It’ll provide a bit of insight into the mind of a writer” – that’s why I noticed your book. And why I bought it. 🙂 I’m looking forward to reading it. Thanks for commenting.

    KristieJ – your review was the reason why I finally relented and put Dare’s book on my list!

  9. Taja Tuesday, October 13, 2009 at 9:34 am #

    Jace – it’s listed as early November here but I ordered it anyway. 🙂

    Buying a hardcover. It looks like you found a new favorite author! *g* BTW, Heart’s Blood seems to be already released. 🙂 I’ll look into Wildwood Dancing. It sounds interesting. Thanks! I’ve read the first book in her Bridei Chronicles series and have the second. I should get to it! 🙂

    Christine – oh wow, if I hadn’t already been convinced by Kristie’s review to buy Dare’s book, your comment would have done it.

    Thank you, Christine! And chocolate cupcakes – oh yumm! Thanks. 😀

    PS: The card is hilarious! Love it.

  10. Elysa Hendricks Tuesday, October 13, 2009 at 2:43 pm #

    Taja,

    Be sure and let me know what you think of THE SWORD AND THE PEN after you read it.

    After looking at the list I released just how far behind I am with my reading. Right now I’m working my way through Linnea Sinclair’s sci-fi romances and getting ready to start Dean Koontz’s Odd Thomas books. I used to read at least a book a day and that’s when my kids were little. Now I’m lucky if I can manage one a week. Either I’m getting slower or time is going by quicker.

    Elysa

  11. Taja Wednesday, October 14, 2009 at 10:56 am #

    Elysa Hendricks – it usually takes around three weeks before I get the books. So it’ll be November when I can read your book. 🙂

    I haven’t read Dean Koontz but I really like Linnea Sinclair’s novels. Gabriel’s Ghost is my favorite.

    “Either I’m getting slower or time is going by quicker.” – how about: you write your own books. That takes time and not everybody can do it. I think that’s very impressive! (Maybe it even compensates less reading time.)

Leave a Reply

