October, 4, 2009

4 Oct

I finally seem to be getting interested again in reading. Yeah!

And in buying books again. Double yeah! (Huh? Is that really a good thing? – Yes!)

The situation was dire indeed. I have a 5-Euro-off coupon valid until 10/10 for several weeks now but it was only a couple of days ago that I really thought about which books to buy with it. But now I’m making lists and all is good again. *g*

Currently Reading

Garnett, Juliana - The Vow

The Vow by Juliana Garnett

Sent by William of Normandy to quell a brazen Saxon rebellion, Luc Louvat believed his mission would be easily accomplished. For what foolish Saxon lord had any hope of triumphing against an army of seasoned Norman knights? But the great warrior was in for a shock..surprised first by the ferocious battle the wily old lord waged–and then by what he discovers when he meets his adversary face-to-face: no crusty, aging nobleman this, but an exquisite princess with a face as fragile as a flower–and a will as steely as the sword she wields. Suddenly Luc finds he’s waging a dangerous new war…aimed at the defenses of a fierce Saxon beauty who threatens to conquer his warrior’s heart.

The Vow follows a often seen pattern in medieval romance: a love-against-their-will between the conquerer and the conquered but it does so in an appealing way. So appealing in fact that I’m nearly finished with this novel and only have around 100 pages left to read.

I liked this snippet, for example:

It occurred to him as he watched her that perhaps he was becoming too involved with her. And when she glanced up at him with wide eyes and a tremulous smile that made his belly tighten, he knew it for certain. (74)

I like medievals and I like Juliana Garnett’s prose so The Vow looks like a winner. Garnett even makes me care about a heroine who in less capable hands would probably make me think that she’s too feisty to live. Good indeed.

7 Responses to “October, 4, 2009”

  1. KristieJ Sunday, October 4, 2009 at 8:32 pm #

    She is one of those authors who you wonder what happened to her!! She hasn’t come out with anything in a few years now and we, the readers, have lost a good author. I read this one a while ago and while I don’t remember that much about – older age and all that – I do know that I quite enjoyed it!!

  2. Jace Monday, October 5, 2009 at 9:10 am #

    Hey Taja,

    So glad you’re enjoying this one so much. πŸ˜€ Can’t wait for your full review. Don’t spare my feelings – just tell me as it is. πŸ˜‰

  3. Taja Monday, October 5, 2009 at 9:44 am #

    KristieJ – I’m enjoying it, too! I didn’t know of this author before Jace πŸ™‚ mentioned and recommended her. And I’m glad she did because, as you both said, she’s a good author. A pity her books are hard to find.

    “while I don’t remember that much about – older age and all that”
    – If this is a sign of age then I must be ancient. I have trouble remembering most of the books I’ve read! *g*

    Jace – I think you have nothing to worry about. Thanks for sharing Juliana Garnett with me! πŸ˜€

  4. nath Monday, October 5, 2009 at 6:40 pm #

    Oooh, that book looks old, but the cover is still actually pretty πŸ˜›

    October 10? You still have time girl. LOL, I had a coupon September 30… I sat down at 9pm to make my order ^_^;

  5. Taja Tuesday, October 6, 2009 at 9:26 am #

    nath – You’re right, the Vow was published in 1998 and it’s out of print now. The cover is nice, especially considering the time it was published, and the wolf is actually there for a reason. πŸ™‚

    Well, you were still in time. *g* I know, because it happened to me often enough, especially when I can’t decide. This time, I should have no problem with that. I received two new coupons so now I have three. That should get me all the books I can think of at the moment. I would need to shop for 75 Euro in the next month to use them all!

  6. Christine Thursday, October 8, 2009 at 4:16 am #

    Oh this looks so good! Remember I told you I read my first medieval romance over the summer and LOVED it? I really need to read more. I may try to find this one at a library.

  7. Taja Thursday, October 8, 2009 at 10:38 am #

    Christine – sure I remember! I’ve finished The Vow and I’m working on writing my comment. I think I’ll settle on 4/5. If you can find the book, it’s certainly worth a read IMO.

    I’m glad you discovered medievals! There are some good ones out there. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

