Meredith Duran – “Bound By Your Touch”

27 Sep

Duran, Meredith - Bound by Your Touch
GENRE: Romance / Historical
PUBLISHED: Pocket Books, 2009

SERIES: related to: Written On Your Skin

WHY THIS NOVEL: Duran’s The Duke of Shadows was one of my favorite reads last year.

Silver-tongued Viscount Sanburne is London’s favorite scapegrace. Alas, Lydia Boyce has no interest in being charmed. When his latest escapade exposes a plot to ruin her family, she vows to handle it herself, as she always has done. Certainly she requires no help from a too-handsome dilettante whose main achievement is being scandalous. But Sanburne’s golden charisma masks a sharper mind and darker history than she realizes. He shocks Lydia by breaking past her prim facade to the woman beneath…and the hidden fire no man has ever recognized. But as she follows him into a world of intrigue, she will learn that the greatest danger lies within — in the shadowy, secret motives of his heart.

LOVED. IT.

There, I’m done.



Okay, let’s see. I think this novel incredibly rich so it’s hard to summarize what I liked.

Duran takes two of the most often used characters in romance novels, the bluestocking spinster and the wastrel, and makes them come so alive and new that at the end of the novel, the reader knows why these two people are exactly right for each other. The reader sees them – and their attraction and love – evolve throughout the story. At the end, both Lydia and James are different (and better) people because they have met each other. Or as James says:

[…] I rise to meet your expectations, and you …” His smile turned devilish. “You sink to my level most beautifully.” (345)

The prologue sets the major themes of the novel – having faith in others or making a fool of oneself because that faith is unjustified. These two themes (together with some more) entwine with the characters and the plot and together with Duran’s skill with language, detailing emotions and feelings, capturing the small moments and creating memorable scenes, they made Bound By Your Touch a most enjoyable and satisfying read for me.

In particular, I enjoyed the look at what society does to the individual (more pronounced in the beginning) and at the changes in society. And I have so many sentences, paragraphs, and scenes lingering in my head that I could do a whole post with quotes and still would have more quotes left than used. Like the conversation on the roof, for example.

Believable characters, believable romance, believable motivations, wit, intelligence, themes, symbolism, balance and structure – Bound By Your Touch has it all IMO.

[I realize this doesn’t tell you much, but I really find it difficult to write about this novel and why it appeals to meΒ  so much.]

Verdict: 5/5

6 Responses to “Meredith Duran – “Bound By Your Touch””

  1. Carolyn Crane (CJ) Sunday, September 27, 2009 at 8:44 pm #

    Hey, so glad to see you love it! I’m reading it RIGHT NOW! Well, not this minute, but I started it last night. The writing is so beautiful and lush. So great.

  2. Taja Monday, September 28, 2009 at 3:51 pm #

    Carolyn Crane – I’m very much looking forward to reading your thoughts!

  3. nath Tuesday, September 29, 2009 at 4:22 am #

    Wow, extremely good grade πŸ™‚ Definitively have to pick it up before the year is out LOL πŸ™‚ Thanks for the review!! Are you going to read Written on your Skin?

  4. Taja Tuesday, September 29, 2009 at 9:01 am #

    nath – *g* yeah, pick it up. I’m curious what you’ll think. πŸ™‚

    I already have Written on your Skin and I’m definitely going to read it. I just love Duran’s prose. But the back blurb mentions spies, so it might take a while. ^^

  5. Christine Thursday, October 8, 2009 at 4:20 am #

    I’m so glad you loved this one as much as I did. I just finished Written On Your Skin by Duran the other day and loved it just as much. I almost want to say more, but it’s not. It’s just that I love it differently. Because once again, Duran writes such unique and compelling characters that are so realistic and flawed and perfect for each other. /fangirl

  6. Taja Thursday, October 8, 2009 at 10:32 am #

    Christine – hmm, I just might to have to hurry with Written On Your Skin despite the spies now. 1. because you loved it. 2. because I want to know what you have to say. πŸ˜€

    Yep, I definitely need to hurry!

Leave a Reply

