September, 24, 2009

24 Sep

Currently Reading

Duran, Meredith - Bound by Your Touch

Bound By Your Touch by Meredith Duran

I started it yesterday evening and I’m on page 71 (chapter 4). I’m loving it. I also thought this

“[…] You are an actor who plays his role very well, but you did not make the role possible. Society did! Given the opportunity, science could deduce the pattern that guides your action, and account for every one of them!” (58)

[bold = in italic in the text]

a very nice surprise. I was tickled pink to read it and I’m hoping there’ll be more.

Currently Playing

Runes of Magic

But in fact, I barely read. At the moment, there’s a lot going on and I feel slightly stressed. It’s not just the construction here (the vacuum cleaner noise is 24/7 for some time now), there are also other things. And when I feel stressed, I’m more likely to play games than to read I guess.

So yeah, still Runes of Magic. I’m far from a fangirl, there are quite a few things rather off with the game, but it helps me to relax and you can play it for free. (How far that will get you is another matter).

Anyway, they released the second chapter last week, The Elven Prophecy, which added new content. They also opened a new server for the new players here. I started a new character there. I’m a bit fed up how some things go on the server my first character is. When a difficult quest comes up, most players look for a high-level character to help. Which means, I don’t learn a thing about playing my character because the high-level character takes care of most everything.

This will certainly be different on the new server, at least in the beginning. Funny enough, I didn’t have much time to play, so I’m actually rather behind in levels to some players who started a new character there too. But still, compared to the other server, playing is very relaxed and easygoing on the new server.

Added benefit: there are also less lags (so far).

4 Responses to “September, 24, 2009”

  1. nath Thursday, September 24, 2009 at 7:08 pm #

    LOL, so many people enjoyed this book! It’s in my TBR pile ^_^; I really should pick it up again…

  2. Taja Friday, September 25, 2009 at 1:16 pm #

    nath – I’m halfway through and still loving it… 🙂

  3. Christine Friday, September 25, 2009 at 7:08 pm #

    I love lines like the one you quoted … Duran is adept at writing them. Definitely a major part of her appeal. I’m glad you’re enjoying it. 😀

  4. Taja Friday, September 25, 2009 at 7:27 pm #

    Christine – I was tempted to do a post today just with quotes from this novel. The first time they kiss, for example.

    I choose this quote for this post because it alludes to sociology. 🙂

Leave a Reply

