September, 4, 2009

4 Sep

It’s Friday evening (~ 19:30), and this thingy that sounds like a huge vacuum cleaner is still going. In fact, it’ll go until 22:30! That’s what it did for the last few days. In the morning, it starts around 8:00. After nearly four weeks of constant noise and racket, I can’t tell you how stressed and exhausted I’m feeling. It looks like I’m getting really fussy in my old age.

On Wednesday, The Boyfriend and I went out in the evening just to escape all the noise. We ended up at a lake near our apartment. There we got some drinks, fries, and watched the sun going down. It was so quiet! Although probably everywhere without a constant background noise will seem quiet to me now. Anyway, I was in heaven.

Bummer it’s raining this evening.

Currently Reading

Brett, Peter V - The Painted Man

Peter V. Brett – The Painted Man

Maybe it’s all the noise getting to me but so far, I’m not completely gripped by this novel. I’m currently on page 306 and I don’t know, it’s a bit like I’m still waiting for the story to really start. I can see its “maybe-shape” – the direction the story is likely going to take – but at the moment, the story consists mostly of getting the three (so far) main characters in place with a few touches of social criticism.

And so far, I see nothing really original. It looks like your old story of three children form a backwater part of the country who are discovering the big world and who (probably) will meet one day to fight the evil in the world (here demons). As so often, the knowledge of old is lost and with it the means to fight the demons properly. All the people can do at the moment is hide in their houses at night, hoping their wards (I picture them like some kinds of runes) will hold and keep the demons from getting to them. But as I said, three people are on their way and shaping up to become heroes.

Let’s see what the remaining 250 pages bring.

7 Responses to “September, 4, 2009”

  1. Jace Saturday, September 5, 2009 at 5:50 am #

    I do sympathize with you over the noise, Taja. Isn’t there some law on noise pollution, that renovation work can’t be done after a certain time at night? This is too much – the incessant noise starts from 0800 to 2230 hours! This is enough to drive anybody mad!

    I’m glad that you had a wonderful at the lake, though. 🙂

  2. Jace Saturday, September 5, 2009 at 5:51 am #

    Damn, the avatar didn’t appear this time! 😦

  3. Taja Saturday, September 5, 2009 at 5:42 pm #

    Jace – thanks! *g* Yes, there’s a law (I think it’s 0700-2000 hours) for the really loud stuff. The vacuum cleaner sound is probably not loud enough for that so that machine is running longer. I actually can kind of live with it, it’s the drilling noise during the days that’s driving me crazy.

    You and your avatar are special! You’re the only one who has two avatars here (so far). 😀 I think it’s cool although I have no idea why sometimes this one shows up and at other times the avatar you use on your blog.

    Edit: Except the suggestion that your avatar is fickle, that is. 😛

  4. Christine Saturday, September 5, 2009 at 8:05 pm #

    Hey Taja! 🙂
    I’m sorry the work is still going on and keeping you from concentrating on reading, gaming or working! Are they almost finished?

    The book sounds really interesting in theory… Too bad you’re still waiting for it to pick up at 350 pages in! Hopefully the end will make it worth it.

    By the way, did you get my email from Aug. 26? I resent it to you earlier today and it bounced back. 😦

    Hope you’re having a peaceful weekend.

  5. Taja Saturday, September 5, 2009 at 9:00 pm #

    Christine – Hi!

    I just typed a long-winded comment re the noise but I’m writing that email now instead! *g* Thanks for commiserating!

    I did get your email from Aug. 26. On Aug. 26. *blush* I always meant to reply when I had some time and peace but so far… I don’t know why it bounced back today. That’s strange.

    re: The Painted Man – the children are all young adults now and the pace picked up a bit. I plan to finish it today so that maybe I have time to write a comment tomorrow (when it’s quiet 🙂 ).

    PS: found out why your email bounced… *blush*

  6. nath Sunday, September 6, 2009 at 2:35 am #

    Awww, Taja! I hope they’re done soon! I can’t imagine how unbearable it is! LOL, the library!! There’s a quiet place for you 😀

    Too bad you’re not getting in this book, especially after more than 300 pages ^_^; I hope the rest of the book rocks!!

  7. Taja Sunday, September 6, 2009 at 9:42 am #

    nath – thanks nath!

    Hmm, the library…I probably could do parts of my work there. It would help (and have the added benefit of getting me new books *g*). Must think about that! Thanks. 😀

    As for how long, yesterday we learned that instead of the end of October, they now think they’ll be finished by the end of the year… 😦 Of course, the really loud stuff should have been finished over a week ago so that news is not much of a surprise.

    I still have 100 pages to go in the book…

Leave a Reply

