August 2009

31 Aug

* * *Books* * *

Books bought / ordered:
Peter V. Brett – The Painted Man
Meredith Duran – Bound By Your Touch
Meredith Duran – Written on your Skin
Kaitlin O’Riley – One Sinful Night
Kaitlin O’Riley – Secrets of a Duchess
Maggie Osborne – Prairie Moon (let’s see if I can get this one)
Sherry Thomas – Not Quite a Husband

Books read:
Catherine Anderson – Cherish (TBR Challenge, 4,5/5)
Ally Blake – Dating the Rebel Tycoon (4/5)
Jeaninie Frost – Halfway to the Grave (4/5)
Kristin Hardy – Under His Spell (4/5)
Kris Kennedy – The Conqueror (3/5)
Sherrilyn Kenyon – The Dream Hunter (2/5)
Kristin Landon – The Cold Minds (3/5)
Candice Proctor – Beyond Sunrise (Re-Read Challenge; 5/5)

  • TBR pile = + 3! (because two of the novels I’d ordered last month were no longer available)
  • a slightly unsatisfying month in regard to grades and number of books read

Favorite novel:
I’ll have to go with Cherish by Catherine Anderson although I mostly remember it for its look at religion and faith. But Beyond Sunrise is a re-read, and as much as I want to, it doesn’t seem fair to count it.

New-to-me authors: Jeaninie Frost, Kris Kennedy, (Sherrilyn Kenyon – I read one of her novels written as Kinley MacGregor which I liked by the way)

New-to-me authors I would read again: Jeaninie Frost, Kris Kennedy
Both authors have voices I liked so I wouldn’t mind reading another novel by them, especially Frost because I like the premise of her series and Bones, the hero.

More comments:
Catherine Anderson – Cherish
Kristin Hardy – Under His Spell
Kris Kennedy – The Conqueror
Sherrilyn Kenyon – The Dream Hunter

* * *Games* * *

Games bought:
The Elder Scrolls: Oblivion (PS3)
Little Big Planet (PS3)

Games played:
Little Big Planet (PS3)
Runes of Magic (free2play MMORPG)

Comments: Games

Little Big Planet is quite cute but I think the controls are a tad too sensitive. I don’t like repeating things several times because I didn’t jump from the exact right spot. And I think I regaled you with my adventures in Runes of Magic more than enough already (I know it’s only interesting to me, no worries), but well, despite my complaints about some of the players, it’s what I like to do to relax a bit in the evening when I don’t feel like reading. It plays quite a part in my entertainment at the moment and therefore here, here and here. And of course this one: Currently Playing: Runes of Magic (free2play MMORPG).

2 Responses to “August 2009”

  1. nath Tuesday, September 1, 2009 at 2:58 am #

    Great list 😀 You got a couple of good reads indeed and you’ve almost reviewed them all!! 🙂

  2. Taja Tuesday, September 1, 2009 at 8:30 am #

    nath – with just 8 books read it’s not all that difficult to review them all. I couldn’t do it if I read as many books as you each month…wait, maybe that’s the reason I read less than I used too. I should skip the blog to read more! LOL

    Yes, a couple of good reads but also a couple of not so good reads, more than usual at least. 😦

Leave a Reply

