Currently Playing: Runes Of Magic (free2play MMORPG)

4 Aug

ETA: added pic

Runes of Magic (RoM) is a MMORPG (Massively Multiplayer Online Role-Playing Game) and it’s free2play. You just have to download it (which can take some time).

RoM - Mage_Priest

my mage/priest character in RoM

It started in spring this year and I joined last week. As always with RPGs, I wanted to play a bow-wielding character. In Runes of Magic, that’s a scout. While I downloaded the game, I looked around on the respective forum – I like to be prepared – and discovered that the scout is in a depressing state in the game. Seriously nerfed. There were enough threads about that on the forum that for the first time, my first character in a RGP wasn’t a character who specialized in bows.

My reason: from what I could see, RoM is a fairly complex game. I would need to learn a lot of new things, not the least of them would be interacting with other players as I have only very rudimentary experience with playing massively multiplayer games. Playing a character class which most consider hard to play due to some balance problems would probably not be a good choice.

So I was intimidated and settled on playing a mage as my first character. They are supposed to deal much damage and if I went with a priest for my second class, I thought I could be rather self-reliant and not have to deal all that often with looking for a party. So I did just that and created a mage/priest character (level 16/12 atm). Now I and every other player I meet in the game are playing a mage/priest character.

I made a scout yesterday.

Here’s a trailer:

Of course, I already have my share of OMG moments like

  • when another player said “hi” and I couldn’t figure out fast enough how the chat worked. Embarrassing and right on my first day.
  • when I tried again and again to catch a monster with a lasso for a quest and it just wouldn’t work. After I don’t know how many tries, I looked at my quest log again and discovered I’d tried to catch the wrong monster. Doh! The only thing I can say in my defense: both monsters, the one I needed to catch and the one I tried to catch, were crabs.
  • yesterday, when I got a new skill and a shiny new button for it.
    *Click*
    I’d turned myself into a player killer. Yikes!
    I panicked because I imagined all the other players rushing to me and beating me to death. I clicked some more on the button but the sign above my character’s head that proclaimed me a PK didn’t disappear. OMG! Would this thing never go away now?
    I exited the game. Right after I’d signed out, I had a very good idea how to turn that thing off.
  • I really need to look into the “aggro” thingy and how it works so that I won’t mess up too much when I’m playing in a party.

———

In other news, I’m still trudging through Kenyon’s The Dream Hunter. I started Margaret Atwood’s The Penelopaid (also takes place in Greece and has some mythology) as a distraction.

5 Responses to “Currently Playing: Runes Of Magic (free2play MMORPG)”

  1. Jace Tuesday, August 4, 2009 at 7:04 pm #

    This is what tickled me to no end in your last post – that you stopped reading the Kenyon book to play this game! 😀 😀 😀

  2. Christine Tuesday, August 4, 2009 at 8:26 pm #

    This looks like so much fun! And a total time suck. I’d end up playing all day. 😉

  3. nath Tuesday, August 4, 2009 at 11:24 pm #

    LOL, sounds like you’re having fun 🙂 You’re brave to play such games… I’m more of a solitary type LOL 😛

  4. Taja Wednesday, August 5, 2009 at 9:07 am #

    Jace – LOL What can I say? I find playing these kind of games (RPGs) relaxing! (when I don’t stress over playing in a group that is) 😀

    Christine – it is fun. I love figuring out the game mechanics and it feeds my inner perfectionist. But yes, it can be a time suck though I hope you didn’t mean to insinuate that I would play all day! 😉

    Nath – I’m actually much more comfortable playing on my own than on the internet (as my comments about interacting with other players prove plenty). When the time comes around that I have to play in a group regularly or get stuck, I quit. That is my next hurdle to take, LOL Maybe this time because RoM is a lot of fun (but then, thanks to this aggro thingy RoM needs good teamwork in groups…). 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Catchy Tune Of The Week: Pink – “So What” « Books and Games - Sunday, August 9, 2009

    […] of Magic, youtube video by Taja I have this song playing in my head since Tuesday thanks to my Currently Playing: Runes of Magic post. I was looking for a youtube video of the game to go with the post. After I’d found one, […]

Leave a Reply

