August, 1, 2009

1 Aug

[This post is closer to what my reading and gaming journal looked like before I went online and started the blog. Of course, I wasn’t that long-winded *g*]

Currently Reading

Kenyon, Sherrilyn - Dream Hunter
The Dream Hunter by Sherrilyn Kenyon

  • I had to smile when I saw that the prologue opened on Santorini, one of the Greek islands. It reminded me of my vacation this year on Kos, another Greek island, which is always good because it was a rather nice vacation.
  • I learned a new word: antediluvian (antediluvian quest, page 4). According to Oxford Advanced Learner’s Dictionary it means “very old fashioned” in a formal or humorous way. It wasn’t listed in my English-German dictionary which boasts to list more than 130 000 words and expressions so I guess it’s rarely used.
  • This is my first Sherrilyn Kenyon. With every name mentioned, I wonder if it’s part of her “Dark Hunter” series (well, I recognized Acheron). Also, the Greek mythology – and Kenyon’s own, I guess – are a bit much to take in all at once.
  • I’m getting more and more irritated with characters who are special in a way average people are not.

    Her dreams had been vivid and colorful–two things most people’s were not. The average person dreamed in black-and-white with a lot of mist. (24)

    I often can’t keep from thinking being special implies also some condescension in that average people are not noteworthy, especially with paranormals.

  • I’m looking forward to finding out how Kenyon turns Arik’s attraction to Megeara because Megeara is special in a certain regard into love based on more than her being other than average people.
  • So far, I actually find it quite interesting.
  • I was surprised to learn that “extremely Greek” women have blond hair and green eyes (73). But I thought it even more surprising that more than half of the Greek women I met in the story were taller than I when the Greek men (let alone the women) I know, or saw on Kos, were not as tall as I am (I’m nearly 6 feet tall).
  • My incredulousness was strained even more when Megeara gets her permit to excavate signed from an official on Santorini. I just couldn’t believe that a government agency would be seated on Santorini, an island with a population well below 20 000. It’s smaller than Kos. Also, the person she needed to get the permit just happened to live there, driving a Rolls Royce of all cars. If Santorini is anything like Kos, the streets are narrow. The smaller the car, the better you get around.

Santorini

View of Santorini’s principal city, Fira

pic: Wikimedia Commons

Clearly, I was in a nit-picking frame of mind. So I put The Dream Hunter down (page 97) and played some Runes of Magic. Now I’m off to watch a marathon re-run of Supernatural, Season 3.

14 Responses to “August, 1, 2009”

  1. Jace Sunday, August 2, 2009 at 8:13 am #

    Oh my dear, you never fail to entertain me with your comments and observations. 😀 Too bad for Kenyon because you’ve just got back from Kos and can therefore call into question some elements in her book. 😀 This is not nit-picking, BTW … the author was stretching it. 😀

    I’ve read only 1 Kenyon book and 1 story in an anthology – those were more than enough for me. 😉

  2. Taja Sunday, August 2, 2009 at 2:14 pm #

    Jace – Thanks! That’s a good thing, right? 😀

    Yes, too bad for Kenyon and me that I have some idea what to expect on a small Greek island. In addition, looking for information about Santorini takes a few seconds online. But then, I understand why Kenyon wrote these elements the way she did – much smoother story that way.

    “I’ve read only 1 Kenyon book and 1 story in an anthology – those were more than enough for me.”

    – Oh dear! 😀

  3. Jace Monday, August 3, 2009 at 1:42 am #

    Yes, yes … entertaining me is good! 😀

    Kenyon’s writing somehow seems over the top for me. Besides, her characters are repetitive. I read that one Dark Hunter book, and when I read that anthology I thought I had met the characters before. I know many readers are digging the Dark Hunter series … it’s just not for me.

  4. Taja Monday, August 3, 2009 at 8:33 am #

    Jace – 😀

    And let’s just say that I see what you mean re Kenyon…

  5. nath Monday, August 3, 2009 at 5:28 pm #

    Great observations, Taja 🙂 Is this your first Kenyon? I didn’t like this one. I have to say, in the beginning, her Dark Hunter series was okay… then, it went downhill 😦

    Enjoy what you can, LOL 🙂

  6. Taja Monday, August 3, 2009 at 8:58 pm #

    Nath – thanks. Yes, it’s my first Kenyon though I read one of her MacGregor books (which I liked). I bought this one for 3 €. I thought it a good price to try one of her novels.

    As for my enjoyment – I’m struggling. 😉

  7. Christine Tuesday, August 4, 2009 at 8:25 pm #

    Kenyon definitely stretches the truth in her Dark Hunter and Dream Hunter books, but she does so admittedly, so I’m okay with it. I do recall reading somewhere.. in acknowledgements or her website?… that her books and her mythology are 100% made up by her… based loosely if at all on real Greek mythology. Of course, since you’re still coming off your real life Greek island experience, it’ll be a bit more forgiving to someone like me who’s never left North America. Oh wait. I went to Cancun in college on spring break. I believe that counts as Central America? Maybe? I digress…

    I’m with nath. I enjoyed the earlier Dark Hunters more than her newer stuff, and I think the Dream Hunter series is just okay–including the book you’re reading. Interestingly, the book you’re reading now takes place before her first Dark Hunter book. Or at least very close to the beginning of the saga. So aside from Acheron, I don’t think there were many repeat characters yet. I don’t remember… it’s been a while since I read it.

  8. nath Tuesday, August 4, 2009 at 11:21 pm #

    There’s Kat!

    I can’t wait to read your full thoughts on this one, Taja 🙂

    and Christine, I don’t know… considering these okay is very generous. Especially the one … I can’t remember the title, but Midnight Clear? OMG, that was a total rip-off!

  9. Taja Wednesday, August 5, 2009 at 8:52 am #

    Christine – there are some names from mythology that I recognize but I don’t know enough about Greek mythology to know how much of the other stuff is Kenyon’s doing. It’s actually not the “stretching the truth” per se that bothers me (it’s what I expect from a paranormal), it’s more the feeling that she doesn’t connect her truths sufficiently for me to make them work for me/believe them. (Does that make sense?) So I’m more likely to nitpick and it’s also why I wondered about how much was established in her other novels.

    Thanks for placing this novel in the series. I thought about finding out but then was too lazy to bother. *g*

    Nath – uh, now I feel pressured! 😉 And LOL, at first I didn’t understand your Kat comment!

  10. Christine Thursday, August 6, 2009 at 2:30 am #

    I had just finished writing a reply yesterday and my laptop ran out of juice (charge). Darn it all, I always seem to ignore those little warnings. Then of course I had to go, so here I am 24+ hrs. later trying to remember what I wrote… let’s see…

    Yes, there’s Kat. But I don’t think the reader knows at this point of her significance in anything, so she’s not exactly a repeat character. I guess she was in a few of the earlier books… namely the one with What’s his name and What’s her name. LOL! You know the one… he’s a dark hunter (name starts with a W maybe? Wulf!) and she’s a Daimon (name starts with a C.. Casssandra?) They meet at a bar after Kat kicked some butt. Great scene. Anyway… lol

    Ugh. Once Upon a Midnight Clear. The worst Kenyon book, I think. I’d give it a D and if you know how much I love most books (I’m easy to please…), you know a D is just … just …AWFUL from me. That guy … was it Arik or something? What a cry baby. I think I blame the publisher for a lot of that book’s downfall, too. It should have been in an anthology. Or a free read!

    So nath, if you’re not so crazy about this series anymore, why were you going nuts trying to find yesterday’s release of Bad Moon Rising so badly? Or is it just an obsession?

    I will read BMR because I’ve waited so long for Fang and Aimee’s story, but I will either borrow it from a library or wait for it in paperback. Then I may call it quits with this series. Then again, there is Nick’s spin off series….. decisions, decisions…

  11. Christine Thursday, August 6, 2009 at 2:33 am #

    Taja, Yeah, I know what you mean … this isn’t the series to really nitpick. It’s pure entertainment, I think. And The Dream Hunter is definitely not one of my favorites. I think I may have even found it a tad boring at the time.

  12. Taja Thursday, August 6, 2009 at 8:27 pm #

    Christine – thanks for your additional comments. I hope to get this sucker finished tonight, or at the latest tomorrow. But, LOL, I’m somewhat distracted by other things!

    Oh, and Once Upon a Midnight Clear sounds really bad. 🙂

  13. nath Friday, August 7, 2009 at 2:51 pm #

    Don’t buy Once Upon a Midnight Clear, do you hear me, Taja? DON’T BUY IT!! LOL 😛 Yes, it’s pretty bad… but you know, the worst is that it’s a total rip-off. Apparently, it was intended to be a novella, but it was printed as a regular full-length novel. Font is blown up, story is bad, price is high.

    Christine – I love Kat!! and yes, she appeared in Wulfe and Cassandra’s story. It was just fun to suddenly see her out of nowhere! 😛

    You gave it a D? I was going to say you were generous, but turns out I did too LOL 😛 We’re both generous, it should have been a DNF. Sigh.

    BMR – not worth the wait. Ugh, you’re wise to wait for the library or mass market release. Basically, the book begins when Fang and Vane got to New Orleans (when their sister was still alive and they were part of the Pack with their father as alpha) till now. Meh. Big Meh.

    WTH, Nick is getting his own series? Is she ending one of the Dark, Were or Dream Hunters series. That’s what I hate, she has wayyyyy too many things going on. She needs to cut back!

  14. Taja Friday, August 7, 2009 at 6:10 pm #

    Nath – LOL I won’t, I promise!

    You’ve already read BMR? – LOL

Leave a Reply

