July 2009

31 Jul

* * *Books* * *

Books bought / ordered:
Martin Amis – Experience*
Margaret Atwood – The Penelopiad*
Ally Blake – Dating the Rebel Tycoon
Ally Blake – A Night with the Society Playboy
Michael Cunningham – Specimen Days*
Jeaniene Frost – Halfway to the Grave
Jennifer Haymore – A Hint of Wicked
Kris Kennedy – The Conqueror
Sherrilyn Kenyon – The Dream Hunter*
Kristin Landon – The Cold Minds
Sarah Mayberry – All Over You
Sarah Mayberry – Amorous Liaisons
Sarah Mayberry – Hot for Him
Cindi Myers – The Man Most Likely
Kaitlin O’Riley – When His Kiss Is Wicked

* bargain bin books

Books read:
Ally Blake – A Night with the Society Playboy (3/5)
Anna Campbell – Untouched (4,5/5)
Susan Mallery – Sweet Trouble
Teresa Medeiros – Thief of Heart (TBR Challenge, 4,5/5)
Cindi Myers – The Man Most Likely (4/5)
Kaitlin O’Riley – When His Kiss Is Wicked (3,5/5)
Nonnie St. George – Courting Trouble (Re-Read Challenge, 5/5)

  • TBR pile = + 9 books!

Favorite novel:
Does Nonnie St. George count? If not, I probably would go with Anna Campbell’s Untouched.

New-to-me authors: Anna Campbell, Cindi Myers, Kaitlin O’Riley

New-to-me authors I would read again: Anna Campbell, Cindi Myers, Kaitlin O’Riley
I liked Campbell’s sense for (high) drama. / The Man Most Likely by Cindi Myers was a very nice, straight contemporary and I always love to read those. / Pleasant surprise: Kaitlin O’Riley. Yes, I bought it because of a review, but that was the only review I’d looked at before ordering it (I felt adventurous). It was also the first time I’d heard of O’Riley.

* * *Games* * *

Games bought:

Games played:
Odin Sphere (PS2)
Pirate Galaxy (free MMOG)
Runes of Magic (free MMORPG)
= yay!

Comments: Games
Currently Playing where I talk about Odin Sphere, Pirate Galaxy, and my first experiences playing in a party in an online game.

4 Responses to “July 2009”

  1. nath Monday, August 3, 2009 at 5:29 pm #

    LOL, 9 new books in the TBR pile!! I love how you keep tracks of things 🙂

    and great job at reviewing them all!

  2. Taja Monday, August 3, 2009 at 8:53 pm #

    Nath – LOL thanks!

    You know what would be even better? If I’d actually know how many books are in my TBR pile. Despite having a Shelfari and a goodreads account, I have only a rather hazy idea about the number of books languishing there. More than 100, I think. (I know that won’t impress most but it’s more than enough for me.) LOL

  3. Christine Tuesday, August 4, 2009 at 8:32 pm #

    I hope you like Jeaniene Frost’s Halfway to the Grave when you get around to reading it. I think readers either love it or hate it. I happen to be in the love it category, but I thought her second book was entertaining, but weaker in plot development.

    I’m so proud of myself… I read nine books in July! I’m now aiming for 10 in August. 😀 Once September rolls around, the number of books I read each month dwindles rapidly to one or two by the time it’s December!

  4. Taja Wednesday, August 5, 2009 at 8:38 am #

    Christine – Hey, nine books are good! I keep my fingers crossed for you and ten books in August. It’s a goal I try to reach each month, too, and most often I fail miserably. LOL Oh, and funny that you read more books over the summer. You would expect it the other way around, I think. In winter you can stay in and make yourself comfy with a book on a reading chair without feeling bad that you’re not outside.

    About Frost – I read some comments about the romance part that sounded very intriguing so I bought it. I plan to read it after the Kenyon so we’ll find out into which category I’ll fall soon!

Leave a Reply

