Spam, Comments, Commenting, and Lurking

26 Jul

Spam and Comments

Do you get spam comments? My blog seems to be a favorite with Russian spammers. Thankfully, all wordpress.com blogs come with Akismet, a spam-protection software, so those are caught.

Very rarely, a real comment gets caught by Akismet but since I can see the comments classified as spam, I then can approve them so they appear on the blog. So far, this only happened maybe four times.

In general, my setting is that I don’t need to approve comments on the blog; they should show up right away on the blog. Exception: comments with more than two links need to be approved.

But despite Akismet, I’m thinking about requiring an email-address when you comment. Most leave their email-address anyway, so there shouldn’t be much difference.

Of course, most spammers usually leave theirs as well, so…hmm, I’m actually not sure if that would stop them.

Commenting and Lurking

Since I’m on the topic of comments, let’s talk about my commenting on other blogs.

Quite frankly, I’m bad at leaving comments at other blogs. There are two reasons for this:

  • Around the time I turned my blog public, I really got into using a feed reader because I discovered quite a few new blogs then. Reading posts in a feed reader is so much faster than visiting all the blogs in real. Now, instead of visiting blogs, I just look at the posts in my feed reader. Sometimes I mark them as a post I want to leave a comment – only to remove that post weeks later because I didn’t.
    But even if I click through to the post that’s no guarantee that I’ll comment
  • because I’m actually such a lurker by nature that I shouldn’t have my own public blog. Really. There’s nothing more to say about that.
    (Though I’m rather proud of the number of comments I managed to leave in the last two days. Of course, this usually means I’m done with commenting for at least the next week. *g*)
  • Plus, there are a very few blogs where I tried to leave a comment but for the life of me couldn’t figure out how. It appears that on top of it all, I’m dumb.

And since I’m talking about blog stuff – we don’t have a summer here. Most of the days you’d think it’s April with all the rain and clouds and temperatures that seldom rise above 25 C (77 F). So I’m thinking about changing the colors of the blog. All that brown is too depressing right now.

I need sunny.

9 Responses to “Spam, Comments, Commenting, and Lurking”

  1. Carolyn Crane (CJ) Sunday, July 26, 2009 at 6:54 pm #

    Poor thing! No summer?

    Oh, I hear you on comments. I think that’s fine. You can’t comment on everything you read.

  2. nath Monday, July 27, 2009 at 2:58 am #

    Ugh, the weather has been very bad here as well. It was really cold, I thought it was either April or late October. Bleh.

    As for spam, hmm, I don’t know how wordpress works, but with blogger, the word verification helps decreasing the spam. I’d have a few, but not too much.

    As for de-lurking… well sometimes, it’s fun to post comments and get responses. And really, that’s the only way you’re going to have more people commenting on your blog πŸ˜› I usually read the posts in the feed and then, go back to blogs to post comments and read responses. I don’t check the “notify me of follow-up comments via email” checkbox, because I don’t like having so many emails turn up and also, it forces me to go back to blogs.

  3. Taja Monday, July 27, 2009 at 10:23 am #

    Carolyn – awwh, thanks. Yes, no summer. I’m so glad we went on vacation earlier this year.

    Nath – I’m sorry to hear you have bad weather as well. It really sucks, doesn’t it?

    I got a bunch of spam comments last week (so far, 450 in 7 months), that’s why I wrote this post. I was curious about the experience of other bloggers. No word verification on wordpress, but Akismet works rather well. I don’t think an outright spam comment got through so far.

    “And really, that’s the only way you’re going to have more people commenting on your blog :P”
    – *g* I know. That’s why I wrote I shouldn’t have a blog. I appreciate everyone who comments anyway and I try to branch out. Really, I try. Like when I went to your blog, for example. πŸ˜‰

    Thanks for commenting!

  4. Jace Monday, July 27, 2009 at 5:25 pm #

    Hmmmm … I came here not knowing what I want to comment exactly. πŸ˜€ How about that for confusion (or am I just plain dumb)?

    Your blog sure looks sunny now. πŸ˜€ Want more sun? Come to Malaysia. πŸ˜€

    BTW, I know I still owe you an email. It’ll reach you soon. πŸ˜‰

  5. Taja Monday, July 27, 2009 at 6:20 pm #

    Jace – you’re sweet! You know, you can visit without commenting. πŸ™‚ And really, if someone gets called dumb, it’s me. I mean, it’s my blog! πŸ˜‰

    Yeah, I thought that you had all the sun. Let’s see how long I can take the yellow and comic-like look here. If I don’t last long, I’ll have to think about Malaysia, I suppose. πŸ˜€

    No worries and rush about the email!

  6. Grace Tuesday, July 28, 2009 at 9:17 am #

    Hi Taja.. I saw your reply to me in Jace’s blog comment. Thanks for the idea! OpenID is really not stable at all πŸ˜›

    Oh! on your note about having no summer… hmmm… i cannot disagree more πŸ˜› hahahaa… i guess it’s just a differences of likes & dislikes. I hate to have to walk out in the heat and bright sun gives me a headache. I wouldn’t mind cold and dull in Malaysia for at least a season… hahahaa… I was in London last month and was so disappointed that it was hot and sunny! London is suppose to be dark, cold and somewhat gloomy -that was what i went there for! Perhaps i choosed the wrong season to visit:P Well, that’s just me! Come enjoy the sun in Malaysia – I’ll trade places with u for a month.

  7. Taja Tuesday, July 28, 2009 at 6:18 pm #

    Grace – Hi! Thank you for visiting. πŸ™‚

    Open ID – the funny thing is that it worked without a problem for months with my comments. And then suddenly…

    As for summer – LOL. You know, I understand you. When I imagine having warm/hot days all the time – nah. I don’t know why this summer is so screwed up. But I don’t want much. Just a few sunny days in a row now and then, that’s all I’m asking for. It would be cool if we could swap our weather, mix it up a bit. That, or we need to trade places for some time. πŸ™‚

    I hope you still liked London!

  8. DOnald Tuesday, August 11, 2009 at 5:20 pm #

    Happy to meet with you here, thanks above information, I will always come

  9. Taja Wednesday, August 12, 2009 at 5:54 pm #

    DOnald – Hi. Thanks for visiting.

Leave a Reply

