Cindi Myers – “The Man Most Likely”

24 Jul

Myers, Cindi - The Man Most Likely
GENRE: Romance / Contemporary
PUBLISHED: Harlequin American Romance, 2009

SERIES:

WHY THIS NOVEL: This review at The Good, The Bad, The Unread

With her voluptuous, plus-size figure, Angela Krizova knows she doesn’t fit the male fantasy of the perfect woman. That’s fine, because Bryan Perry isn’t her idea of the ideal man, either. The gorgeous ski-bum-turned-corporate-exec is just the type she avoids like the plague.

Except he won’t take no for an answer. With Bryan pursuing her as if she’s the most desirable woman in Crested Butte, Angela’s starting to believe it just a little herself. Is the most irresistible guy in town really falling for her? Or is he the man most likely to break her heart?

I like to read stories where characters, especially the heroine, are not perfectly looking, probably because it makes the story more real. When I learned that Cindi Myers’s The Man Most Likely features a plus-size heroine – who even stayed that way until the end – I wanted to read it. Even better, it sounded like a nice story between two main characters who struggle against expectations others have of them because of looks.

So yes, part of the conflict in this story is the way Angela looks. And that she owns a chocolate shop plays right into the image of a woman who is plus-sized. But Angela is so much more than just crazy about chocolate. She has a sexy voice, which attracted Bryan first when they talked on the phone, a sense of humor, is nice and warm, and a very good actress of the town’s theater group. In the course of the story it turns out that she’s not only a good actress on stage but in other areas of her life as well and that her image of herself as a confident woman who owns a successful business is not completely true.

But Bryan also has to struggle with expectations of other people. He recently said good-bye to his slacker ways as a ski bum when he decided to finally make use of his degree. Now his friends are betting on how long he’ll last in the job as assistant manager at a hotel before he comes back to his former life of fun and play, his boss expects him to play the corporate career game, and Angela expects him to just play with her because of his and her looks. Between all these expectations, Bryan has to find his way to what he wants for and expects of himself.

I liked how all conflicts and problems revolved around expectations. I thought it gave the story a very real life feeling. And I really liked how the main conflict brought Angela and Bryan’s issues with expectations together. Bryan really wants to succeed at what he’s doing but Angela is not exactly the woman one expects at his side for that (as Angela points out to him). Angela really wants to believe in Bryan but because of a past experience with a man like him she expects him to turn his back on her sooner or later. They make an unexpected couple if judged only on the way they look (together).

But thankfully, that is not all that counts in love. And The Man Most Likely tells us just that. What better way to celebrate love and life?

Verdict: A nice and warm story about finding love with an unexpected partner. (4/5)

3 Responses to “Cindi Myers – “The Man Most Likely””

  1. Wendy Friday, July 24, 2009 at 4:52 pm #

    I’m so glad you enjoyed this story, since it was my review that steered you towards it 🙂

    I’m still waiting for the romance novel featuring a plus-size heroine where her weight in a non-issue, but I’m not sure that will ever happen (or be terribly realistic) given our current society. But I really enjoyed how both hero and heroine in this story were bristling against expectations and how other people saw them (separately and together). It wasn’t all on the heroine.

  2. Jace Saturday, July 25, 2009 at 6:53 am #

    Sounds like a heartwarming one, Taja. 🙂 I’m glad you’ve enjoyed it. I’ve never read Cindi Myers before.

    I generally don’t like Harlequin titles. I’ve read some but my overall impression was that they were too short. I don’t know … it’s just me, I suppose.

  3. Taja Saturday, July 25, 2009 at 9:20 am #

    Wendy – no worries, I was rather sure I would like it. You’re not Superlibrarian for nothing. 🙂

    Can I just quote the second paragraph of your comment? Because that’s what I was trying to say in my review, especially that it wasn’t all on the heroine. I also really liked the parts when Bryan sat in his office, thought of all the fun he had before and compared that to what he did now.

    Jace – It was my first novel by Cindi Myers but I wouldn’t say no to reading another one by her. 🙂

    I see your point about Harlequin titles. Actually, I never thought I could get into Harlequin titles. But then I found less and less straight contemporary romances and from there it went. Sometimes the shortness fits the stories, sometimes it doesn’t. By now, I see Jennifer Crusie’s point in her essay about category novels. It’s also that part of my reading where I’m more adventurous. I try new authors without necessarily having a recommendation for them (like I did with Ally Blake).

Leave a Reply

