Two New Books, Three Book Covers

6 Jun

My book buying plans got a bit screwed this month (more on later this month). If I want books they have to be in stock and that’s rather a problem at times because I don’t live in the US (or Canada). But I found two books that I’m interested in and which are in stock, so I ordered them. I should get them on Monday. Yay!

Madeline Hunter – The Rules of Seduction

Hunter, Madeline - Rules of Seduction

from the author’s website:

His rules will teach her the most sensual seductions and pleasures.

Her rules will bring him to his knees.

He enters her home without warning or invitation—a stranger of shadowy motives and commanding charisma. Within hours, Alexia Welbourne is penniless, without any hope of marriage. Until Hayden Rothwell takes her innocence in one impulsive act of passion. Society’s rules of seduction force Alexia to marry the very man who has ruined her family. What Alexia doesn’t know is that her masterful, sensual new husband is driven by a secret purpose and bears a dark debt of honor. He will risk anything, give everything, to repay it. Except, he discovers, the woman who starts playing by her own rules.

I loved Madeline Hunter’s medievals but for some reason I’ve never read one of her regency novels. I’m kind of interested in this one and really, buying just one book a month…the other one would feel lonely.

Dorothy Koomson – My Best Friend’s Girl

Koomson, Dorothy - My Best Friend's Girl

from the author’s website:

what would you do for the friend who broke your heart?
Best friends Kamryn Matika and Adele Brannon thought nothing could come between them – until Adele did the unthinkable and slept with Kamryn’s fiance, Nate. Worse still, she got pregnant and had his child. When Kamryn discovered the truth about their betrayal she vowed never to see any of them again.

Two years later, Kamryn receives a letter from Adele asking her to visit her in hospital. Adele is dying and begs Kamryn to adopt her daughter, Tegan. With a great job and a hectic social life, the last thing Kamryn needs is a five-year-old to disrupt things. Especially not one who reminds her of Nate. But with no one else to take care of Tegan and Adele fading fast, does she have any other choice?

So begins a difficult journey that leads Kamryn towards forgiveness, love, responsibility and, ultimately, a better understanding of herself.

This one was on my list of books to buy for a long time. At first, I waited if there would be a US edition because they usually cost less than UK editions here. And then yes, there was a US edition but the cover was so ugly IMO that I was tempted to buy the UK edition even though that cost twice as much. I couldn’t make up my mind and in the end, I forgot about this book altogether.

Then yesterday, a friend mentioned she’d read Dorothy Koomson’s The Chocolate Run and that she loved it.

And voilà – I bought My Best Friend’s Girl today.

By the way, here’s the UK cover:

Koomson, Dorothy - My Best Friend's Girl (UK cover)

7 Responses to “Two New Books, Three Book Covers”

  1. nath Monday, June 8, 2009 at 3:20 am #

    Ohhh, you’ll have to let me know what you think of My Best Friend’s Girl! It sounds familiar – I probably read the blurb somewhere 🙂

    Hope you enjoy the Madeline Hunter – I did 🙂

  2. Taja Monday, June 8, 2009 at 10:56 am #

    Nath – I got the recommendation for My Best Friend’s Girl on a blog, I just can’t remember where. It was well over a year ago, maybe even longer. I think there was quite some talk about it then.

    I’m looking forward to reading the Madeline Hunter novel. Good know you liked it!

    PS: Got the books already. 😀

  3. Christine Monday, June 8, 2009 at 7:55 pm #

    I can’t wait to hear what you think of My Best Friend’s Girl. I still cannot get The Chocolate Run out of my mind. I bought a used copy thinking I would pass it on to someone else as soon as I was done, but forget it! I’m keeping it!

    … although if a friend couldn’t find a copy for herself, I would definitely lend her my copy. 😉

  4. Taja Tuesday, June 9, 2009 at 12:48 am #

    Christine – LOL! That’s high recommendation and comforting to know. 😀

    Amazon lists The Chocolate Run as available, just not my favorite online book shop. So I actually can get The Chocolate Run. Hmm, I might just do that. It’s in stock so I could get it this week. And you’re saying you cannot get it out of your mind. Must think about it. 🙂

    Of course I’ll let you know what I think of My Best Friend’s Girl!

  5. Marg Saturday, June 13, 2009 at 11:37 am #

    Okay, I am going to gush and gush and say I LOVED My Best Friend’s Girl. I cried and smiled and laughed and thought it was fabulous. I have read every Koomson that I can get hold of since and liked them all a lot.

    As for Rules of Seduction that is my first Hunter and I have since kept reading this series and enjoyed them very much!

  6. Taja Saturday, June 13, 2009 at 8:50 pm #

    Marg – your gushing is very welcome! And you liked the Hunter novel as well. It really seems like my not exactly planned book purchases have the potential to be great reads. Yay!

    Thanks for letting me know you liked the other novels by Koomson as well. That’s good to know.

    I’m glad you got your internet troubles resolved! 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Going On Vacation « Books and Games - Tuesday, June 16, 2009

    […] get them in time. Big Bummer, especially because I had quite a list of books I wanted! Luckily, I found two books that were in stock and which I (kind of) wanted. So I bought them, and for the rest I just have to […]

Leave a Reply

