Weekend Reads: “Shades of Dark” + “Hope’s Folly” By Linnea Sinclair

11 May

After I finished reading Gabriel’s Ghost for Nath’s Re-Read Challenge, I just couldn’t let go of Sully and Chaz and decided to read Shades of Dark again. I also thought it a good preparation for Hope’s Folly which I still had to read for the first time.

Shades of Dark by Linnea Sinclair

science fiction romance; “Dock Five” series, #2

sinclair-linnea-shades-of-dark

This is the second time I read Shades of Dark and I still like it as much as the first time.

If you call Gabriel’s Ghost dark, then Shades of Dark is black. In Shades of Dark, the world – or better the universe – is in turmoil. Political structures are rapidly breaking down and you know longer know who is on your side and who is not as Chaz and Sully try to find the remaining jukor lab and struggle with the their bond. This bond is explored in detail in this story together with the nature of the power behind it. Shades of Dark looks at the consequences, pitfalls and temptations of that power; and that’s the reason I said Shades of Dark is a black story.

Hope’s Folly by Linnea Sinclair

science fiction romance; “Dock Five” series, #3

sinclair-linnea-hopes-folly

I liked Hope’s Folly but because I think about writing a longer comment about it, I just quote a scene that shows why I like Rya Bennton, the heroine, a lot. This is Rya and Philip:

“Is this,” she asked hesitantly, “what I think it is?”
“What do you think it is?”
“Norlack 473 sniper, modified to handle wide-load slash ammo.” There was a noticeable reverence in her voice.
He pulled the rifle out, hefting it. She had a good eye. Norlacks weren’t common. But recognizing it was modified for illegal and highly destructive charges… Then again, she’d seen it in action.
“It is,” he confirmed, amused now by the expression on her face. It had gone from reverence to almost rapture.
“That is so totally apex.” Her voice was hushed. “May I,” and she glanced shyly at him, her eyes bright, spots of color on her cheeks, fondle it?” (57)

*** ~ ***

Like Gabriel’s Ghost, both these novels come with a playlist. For Shades of Dark, it’s Delerium feat. Sarah McLachlan – SILENCE (Airscape mix) and for Hope’s Folly, it’s Fragma – TOCA’S MIRACLE/TOCA ME – youtube video and lyrics graciously provided by Linnea Sinclair here.

2 Responses to “Weekend Reads: “Shades of Dark” + “Hope’s Folly” By Linnea Sinclair”

  1. Jace Tuesday, May 12, 2009 at 7:19 am #

    I’m glad you still like Shades of Dark so much, and had enjoyed Hope’s Folly. Strange … I never knew you were a Linnea Sinclair fan until recently. 😀 And yes, that Norlack scene had me grinning from ear to ear too. 😀

  2. Taja Tuesday, May 12, 2009 at 10:43 am #

    Jace – I guess my Gabriel’s Ghost post for the Re-Read Challenge gave me away. *g* Norlack scene – I actually laughed out loud at the “fondle” part in that scene. 😀

Leave a Reply

