Thinking About Buying New Books

3 May

Okay, I did really good last month and didn’t buy any books. It felt good and I’m proud that I’ve managed it but there’s of course one big problem:

I want to buy A LOT of books now!

Since I have a book budget (at least, I try to keep to one), I can’t get them all at once. But I’m sneaky enough to have two budget rules – only one of them applies

Rule #1: budget defined by the amount of money I’m allowed to spend.

Rule #2: budget defined by the amount of books I’m allowed to get which ideally should be below the number of books I usually read in a month to reduce my TBR pile

I love juggling my book orders around to get the most books out of my budget rules while I still get the books I want.

When I get coupons, all bets are off and my budget rules fly out of the window.

This morning, I came up with a tentative list of 14 books I want – too many books for either rule. I have three books I really, really, really want to buy which means two or three “free” spots on the list.

Because it helps me to mull things over, here’s my list. First the books I’m sure to get, then the others. Maybe someone has a suggestion?

Books I’ll definitely buy:

  • Beyond Heaving Bosoms: The Smart Bitches Guide to Romance Novels
    Looking forward to intelligent and clever fun/funny and clever intelligence
  • Kristin Landon – The Hidden Worlds
    Science fiction. I can’t remember where/when I saw this author mentioned the first time. I just have a note with the name, book titles and a few exclamation marks! (Kristin Landon’s website)
  • Brandon Sanderson – Hero of Ages
    It’s the last book in the “Mistborn” trilogy, a trilogy I really liked so far, especially the first book in the series.
beyond-heaving-bosoms kristin-landon-the-hidden-world sanderson-brandon-the-hero-of-ages

Maybe books

– thanks to Nath’s Re-Read Challenge this month:

  • Catherine Spangler – Touched by Darkness
    First book in a series. Leslie read the second book in the series. She said the second book stands alone well, but I have this thing with reading series in order so I put the first one on the list as well just to be on the safe side.
  • Catherine Spangler – Touched by Fire
    Leslie read this book.
  • Jodi Thomas Twisted Creek
    Nath read this book.
  • Patricia Waddell – He Said Yes
    Lori read this book.
  • (+ a few other interesting sounding books!)
spangler-catherine-touched-by-darkness spangler-catherine-touched-by-fire thomas-jodi-twisted-creek waddell-patricia-he-said-yes

– just because:

  • Lara Adrian – Ashes of Midnight
    This one will be published later this month, so it’s actually out of the running for now.
  • Jennifer Ashley – The Madness of Lord Ian MacKenzie
    Kristie(J) loves it.
  • Larissa Ione – Passion Unleashed
    I read the previous two and really want to know what happens next.
  • Sarah Mayberry – All Over You
    Category – I must move fast.
  • Sarah Mayberry – She’s Got It Bad
    Category – I must move fast.
  • Sarah Mayberry – Take On Me
    Category – I must move fast.
  • Kate Noble – Compromised
    A historical. Again, can’t remember where I read something about this novel but I’m always willing to try a new author. (Kate Noble’s website)
adrian-lara-ashes-of-midnight ashley-jennifer-the-madness-of-lord-ian-mackenzie ione-larissa-passion-unleashed
mayberry-sarah-all-over-you mayberry-sarah-shes-got-it-bad mayberry-sarah-take-on-me noble-kate-compromised

Things accomplished/learned:

  • I narrowed down my list a bit!
  • I really should make a note why a book is on one of my lists.
  • how to do tables. Next step: figure out if there’s a way to center them.
7 Responses to “Thinking About Buying New Books”

  1. nath Wednesday, May 6, 2009 at 1:42 am #

    LOL, okay, so obviously, I’m telling you Twisted Creek! I can give you some good references for it! LOL πŸ™‚

    Love your rules though, it’s quite smart πŸ˜€ and wow, you didn’t buy any books last month? I’m going to try to do the same this month… wish me luck πŸ˜›

    So okay, I were you… and I was allowed to pick 3 more books, I’d go for Twisted Creek, Passion Unleashed and the three Blazes. Passion Unleashed, because you’ve probably enjoyed the author previously since you read the 2 first books… and the three Blazes because they are cheaper (so can buy them all) and you have to move fast πŸ™‚

  2. Taja Wednesday, May 6, 2009 at 10:49 am #

    Nath – I know your references for Twisted Creek – they are very persuasive!

    “I’m going to try to do the same this month… wish me luck”

    – now that I want to see! πŸ˜› *wishes you luck* *keeps fingers crossed for you*

    Nath, you’re good! I got two of the categories (both published in April, the third one in May) for the reasoning you stated, I had Twisted Creek on my list and then I read Moonstruck by Susan Grant on Monday and just had to get the next one in the series. I skipped Passion Unleashed because there’s a good chance that amazon here offers it at some point for a really good price because the book is popular – I love saving money on books! πŸ˜‰

    And I took the Smart Bitches Guide off for now – I can get at least two books for that one. LOL I went for the Waddell one instead (nearly the same price as one category) and have room for one more book, or two if I treat my budget rules liberally. It’s early in May! How could I know what I want in two weeks? I need wiggle room. πŸ˜€

  3. Christine Thursday, May 7, 2009 at 4:47 am #

    Budgets are so overrated. It looks like you went shopping already, but for the record I would have voted for you to get the Sarah Mayberry Blaze books so you can tell me if they’re any good. πŸ˜†

  4. Christine Thursday, May 7, 2009 at 4:47 am #

    And the Jennifer Ashley one…

  5. Taja Thursday, May 7, 2009 at 9:08 am #

    Christine – LOL!

    I got two Sarah Mayberry books and I definitely will get Jennifer Ashley’s book – I just don’t feel like reading a historical at the moment so it has to wait a bit.

    Maybe in two weeks. πŸ˜‰

  6. nath Thursday, May 7, 2009 at 6:43 pm #

    LOL, great juggling Taja! πŸ™‚

  7. Taja Friday, May 8, 2009 at 1:39 pm #

    *g* thanks Nath!

Leave a Reply

