OOPS, I Did It Again! – New Blog Theme

27 Apr

I actually don’t know how that happened – for example, I have yet to read my book for Nath’s Re-Read Challenge – but I was bored yesterday afternoon. Before I knew it, I found myself playing around with a new WordPress blog theme, Vigilance.

Actually, this theme is around since February and I was tempted right away when I first saw it. It gives you more options than you usually have with WordPress themes. I now can change the background color and the link color, for example. It also features a customizable header and I think the sidebar is rather versatile.

Of course, there are things I’m not too happy about. For example, I really liked the time stamp on posts and comments my previous theme offered and the font on the sidebar is too small with Vigilance. But on the plus side IMO are the new color options I have, the post body is now broader and, IMO, the text is easier on the eye, plus the link to leave a comment is more obvious (but still at the top of the post).

I’m actually not sure how long I’ll keep these colors, though. The brown background makes it rather dark, IMO. But *g* that’s easily changed with this theme.

Really, I don’t know why I can’t stick with things for more than a few months; I’m even tempted to change my blog title from time to time, lol.

If you notice anything wrong, or you don’t like the colors, please let me know.

8 Responses to “OOPS, I Did It Again! – New Blog Theme”

  1. nath Tuesday, April 28, 2009 at 1:34 am #

    LOL, all right, you asked… I actually like the brown 🙂 It’s the blue that I don’t like ^_^; I don’t think it goes very well with the brown and it’s actually a bit hard to read on a white background… Do you think you could change it? Please?

  2. Christine Tuesday, April 28, 2009 at 3:37 am #

    I love it! Like Nath, I too like the brown and think the blue is a little hard on the eyes. I don’t think the font on the sidebar is too small. I guess some of the tags and the text in the RECENT COMMENTS is a tad small, but most of it is just fine.

    It looks great! Remind me to consult with you when I need to pick paint colors for my house. Oh wait. I did that with you already. 😛

  3. Taja Tuesday, April 28, 2009 at 10:24 am #

    Nath – thank you! You’re right with the blue on white. I changed it to brown and it’s already better, IMO.

    I actually like the blue on the brown in the header – it gives contrast and seems “fresh, spring-like” to me though I see your point. I try a (dark) red in the header in the next few days to get rid off the blue completely. Though I probably will lose the brown background then. I like brown but too much of it seems too dark for spring, LOL. That better? 😉

    Thanks for your opinion! 🙂

    Christine – another one with the blue on white and you’re both right, LOL! I changed it already.

    Yes, I meant the font size in the RECENT COMMENTS. They are links like RECENT POSTS or CATEGORIES so I don’t understand why they don’t have the same size. I just find it surprising that the font size for plain text in the sidebar (like the ABOUT text) is rather small compared to everything else. I need to write more posts for the tags probably LOL.

    If I remember correctly, you showed me the colors and I said “Great!” that’s all LOL. Anyway, thank you and you were/are welcome! It was fun. Maybe one day I can return the favor. 😛

    Thanks for your opinion! 🙂

  4. nath Tuesday, April 28, 2009 at 5:40 pm #

    Oh, it looks much better 😀

    I get why you like the header, the contrast is very nice indeed. Unfortunately, that color on white? Ouch, my eyes ;P

  5. Christine Tuesday, April 28, 2009 at 5:53 pm #

    I like this better, too. 😀

  6. Taja Tuesday, April 28, 2009 at 9:32 pm #

    Thanks, Nath and Christine for your feedback! I appreciated it a lot. 😀 And obviously, I needed it. A lot! LOL

  7. Jace Thursday, April 30, 2009 at 1:17 pm #

    Obviously I’m a few days late to comment 🙂 but … I like the entire look! The different tones of brown and blue of the header are nice. It’s a sharp look but not intimidating. The browns are earthy and welcoming and the blue (looks like teal to me) contrasts well. And I don’t know if my mind’s playing tricks … it loads faster too. 🙂

  8. Taja Thursday, April 30, 2009 at 6:33 pm #

    Jace – hi and thank you! Comments are always welcome.

    I actually think I keep the blue (which I also see more as teal) for now.

    Loads faster? That’s good news! 😀 So I did everything right! *g*

Leave a Reply

