Seriously Pissed Off: “Prince Of Persia: Warrior Within”

22 Apr

[04/23/2009 – update at the end of the post]

My plan for the evening:

  1. do the boss fight against the Empress in Prince of Persia: Warrior Within
  2. eat
  3. write a book comment
  4. read

I did #1, and for whatever reason, I kept playing.

Big mistake.

Because right after the fight, one of those damn Dahaka chase sequences starts. I hate them. But after quite a few tries, I manage it. I’m all YAY! and I’m looking around for a save point.

There is none.

Okay, just a bit more and then I can save, I think. But instead I get…

…another Dahaka chase sequence…

…and another…

…and another!

After the second chase sequence, I checked a walkthrough and I knew that after the fourth chase sequence, it’s just a matter of climbing up on a platform and two jumps to a balcony. There, behind the waterfall, is my save point. So I won’t quit because doing all that again? NO WAY!

Thanks to the damn chase sequences, I’m playing for more than three hours now. Like always, I have trouble to get the timing of the moves right, like jumping from pole to pole or running along the wall and graping a rope, and because I’m chased, I only have one try. One mistake and the Dahaka gets me. Then it’s game over.

This is so not fun. I know I’m not the best at these kind of games and my reaction time is not the fastest but seriously, I can’t imagine managing these chase sequences on the first try. Even if you’re better at the moves, you just don’t know where you have to go.

My nerves are wrecked and I seriously need something to eat. Like chocolate. But we don’t have any in the house. And then finally, I manage the forth chase sequence and the platform raises and I’m giddy from excitement and exhaustion and I climb the platform.

And run into a glitch! I can’t get onto the platform because there is some kind of invisible wall, with one of the ledges used to climb the platform floating on thin air.

That’s bad. That’s seriously bad. Because it means that I CAN’T GET TO MY SAVE POINT which is just two jumps away if only I could get on that damn platform!

I go online and I search. Yes, I’m not the only one who encountered that glitch. In fact, I learn that Prince of Persia: Warrior Within has quite a few glitches with a badass one right before the end that means starting over from the beginning. For me right now, it looks like there is nothing to do but start from an earlier save game and try again…

It’s more than four hours ago that I started to play and fight the empress, perhaps it is even closer to five hours, I don’t know and I don’t care because I can’t do a thing except turn off the PS2.

But what really gets me is that I don’t know if it will happen again because I don’t know what caused the glitch. It could be I did something “wrong” during the chase sequences, or it could be my save file is corrupted and I’ll get the glitch EVERY TIME.

I don’t know if I’ll try again.

During my search for help with my glitch, I also found a video on youtube with the four chase sequences. In less than 10 minutes!

I’m off to eat some chocolate. The Boyfriend went and got me some.

As for writing a book comment and reading?

Forget about it. I’m done for today.

UPDATE 04/23/2009 – 07:45 pm:

I did it. It only took me about 20 minutes this time and 7 failed tries (5 of them for the third chase sequence). It’s just considerably easier when you know where you have to go. It also payed off that I finally had the swinging-on-a-rope-then-running-on-the-wall move down pat after yesterday.

And I didn’t encounter the glitch! Everything went how it should be and I could get on the platform and save. The thing I did different? I changed the order of the last two chase sequences – the long one before the short one.

4 Responses to “Seriously Pissed Off: “Prince Of Persia: Warrior Within””

  1. Christine Wednesday, April 22, 2009 at 10:52 pm #

    LOL!!! Oh no!!!! You poor thing!

    What kind of chocolate did your man get you?

    I’d watch the video of the chase scenes but I can’t stand this slow connection here at the apartment anymore.

    I hope you get some sleep tonight. You need your energy for tomorrow’s fights! πŸ˜‰

    p.s. Is it daylight’s savings there yet? Is your clock on your blog comments wrong? Or is it just me and my mental calculations?

  2. Taja Thursday, April 23, 2009 at 12:00 pm #

    Awwh! Thanks Christine, for commiserating with me instead of scolding because I don’t know when it’s better to quit. Much appreciated. As was the chocolate I got (dark with a chili flavor *yum*).

    The clock on the comments is correct; we have daylight’s savings now.

    I hope you can move back soon because then you can watch all “my” fabulous game videos. πŸ˜‰ Just kidding. You know I hope it for you!

  3. OJ Friday, April 24, 2009 at 11:11 am #

    Aarghh!!…Even i encountered the same glitch!…damn game!…have been playing fr three hours now…and thanks for the change you suggested..will play again now! πŸ™‚

  4. Taja Friday, April 24, 2009 at 2:39 pm #

    OJ – hi! I hope it will work for you, too! It was the only thing I could think of to do differently and I was so glad when it worked. If not, I would have quit.

    Let me know how it went for you. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

