Paranormal Reads Over The Weekend: Adrian, Cole, Ione

6 Apr

adrian-lara-veil-of-midnight

Veil of Midnight by Lara Adrian

paranormal romance; Dell 2009; “Midnight Breed” series #5

Veil of Midnight on Lara Adrian’s website

I like this series and Veil of Midnight is probably my favorite novel in this series so far. It was only near the end that I thought the story faltered (a bit). Interestingly enough, for a romance novel, I thought the action and suspense part better developed. There are quite a few twists and turns, and in the beginning, it doesn’t look all that good for Nikolai and Renata. I liked this “edginess.” By comparison, the romance seemed a bit underdeveloped. Nikolai and Renata appeared to be in love mainly because of a vision and some blood drinking.
I think the new development (Hunter) interesting and I’m looking forward to reading Andreas’s story, Ashes of Midnight.

Verdict: I liked it (4/5).

* * * ~ * * *

cole-kresley-kiss-of-a-demon-king

Kiss of a Demon King by Kresley Cole

paranormal romance; Pocket 2009; “Immortals After Dark” series #6

Kiss of a Demon King on Kresley Cole’s website

Oh, how could I forget how much fun this series is? Really, I think this series funny, tongue-in-cheek, and clever at the same time.
My favorite part in this novel: the heroine, Sabine. She has the best lines and just cracked me up. I loved her character and her unapologetic behavior, and really, she has a point: she was raised to value different things. I liked this clash between “good” and “evil” and how sometimes “evil” can be just what is needed.
I loved Rydstrom’s bafflement and bewilderment about Sabine and how his world and his priorities got turned upside down by her. And I really like that the world in this series is so “alive” – stories seem to be everywhere but they don’t necessarily are sequel bait.
Kiss of a Demon King is one of my favorite entries in this series. When does the next one in this series come out again?

Verdict: I really liked it (4,5/5).

* * * ~ * * *

ione-larissa-desire-unchained

Desire Unchained by Larissa Ione

paranormal romance; Grand Central 2009; “Demonica” series #2

Desire Unchained on Larissa Ione’s website

Desire Unchained is a novel full of interesting ideas and it’s an action-packed novel. It’s fast-paced and because there’s a lot going on, sometimes it seemed too busy as in all the interesting ideas didn’t get played to their fullest because the next thing was just around the corner. While this isn’t necessarily bad, more like a matter of taste, there’s one thing I thought the lack of time/pages mattered: Shade’s “special gift.” To me, it appeared to be there more to up the kink than really integrated well into the story.
Runa and Shade face near unsurmountable odds and there’s a lot of high and low in their relationship. Overall, Runa and Shade make a well matched couple. Gem’s and Kynan’s story continues in Desire Unchained and they have a scene that nearly had me teary-eyed. I liked the darkness in this novel, the glimpses of other characters, Wraith especially, and I thought the three brothers had a nice dynamic to their relationship.
I’m looking forward to reading Passion Unleashed.

Verdict: I liked it (4/5).

4 Responses to “Paranormal Reads Over The Weekend: Adrian, Cole, Ione”

  1. nath Tuesday, April 7, 2009 at 11:11 pm #

    Ohhh, lucky you! Three books read and they were all winners for you 😀

  2. KristieJ Wednesday, April 8, 2009 at 12:14 am #

    I haven’t read the other two, but I really enjoyed Veil of Midnight. I found it so refreshing to read about a heroine who could more then hold her own against an alpha vampire hero.

  3. Taja Wednesday, April 8, 2009 at 10:10 am #

    Nath – yes, can’t complain. 😀 I love when that happens!

    KristieJ – yes, it was a nice change of dynamics between the hero and the heroine. I also liked that they were attracted to each other even though they thought the worst about the other.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Books and Games - Saturday, April 11, 2009

    […] playing catch up with some paranormal series with the last books I read – really, this series thing is making me irate – it’s high time I […]

Leave a Reply

