2 Recent Reads

24 Mar

After going on how I can’t decide which book to read first, I went and read three books. But I’d mentioned only one of them, Linda Howard’s Open Season, in that post.

Kelley Armstrong – Bitten

armstrong-kelley-bittenUrban Fantasy

Actually, I’m still reading it (100 pages to go). It’s also the second time I read it. The first time was late in 2004.

The reason I reading this novel is because after reading Nath’s review of its sequel, Stolen, for the Re-Read Challenge in February, I really wanted to read Stolen but other than knowing I really liked Bitten the first time I’ve read it and that there’s werewolves and the heroine is the only female – nothing. This being a series, a re-read was in order.

Since I started to read it on Saturday, I have a question buzzing around in my head about the heroine in this novel:

Is Elena a kick-ass heroine?

Having this question is very distracting when I’m trying to read the story.

~ * * * ~

Robin Schone – The Lover

schone-robin-the-loverHistorical Romance

I bought this novel because of Amy C’s review of it for Re-Read Challenge in February.

The one word that first comes to mind when I think about this novel is interesting. The Lover is a very interesting novel because of its strong themes of identity, sex, intimacy, violence, mortality and how they are all connected. Words that come to mind after interesting: fascinating, intriguing, raw, honest, disturbing.

Lest you think I forgot the story: I didn’t. How could I? The Lover tells a rather unusual story for a historical romance (in fact, I’m not sure if the label “historical romance” really fits this novel). It’s the story of 36-year-old spinster Anne Aimes and the 40-year-old whore Michael. Both are scarred people on the inside – and Michael even on the outside – and both are lonely and needy and therefore vulnerable people. The no-holds-barred way Schone tells how these two people meet and come together is heart-wrenching to read. There are no barriers between these two and their vulnerabilities.

All this is accompanied by a ominous and rather gothic mystery that’s sometimes not easy to follow because you only get cryptic hints about the mystery and a coming disaster (why Michael fears for Anne’s and his life). But then, it fits the themes of this novel so I didn’t mind.

One “complaint”: Michael and Anne are so lonely and needy (and they didn’t talk about much else), I wasn’t really sure it’s love yet. But they sure know each other on a much more fundamental level than many more “romantic” couples.

I’m going to look for other novels by Robin Schone, especially the “sequel” to The Lover.

Verdict: A very compelling read (4,5/5).

3 Responses to “2 Recent Reads”

  1. nath Tuesday, March 24, 2009 at 3:48 pm #

    She’s a different type of kick-ass heroine 🙂 Not the typical one as in, tough attitude and language. She has her weakness, but she’s strong and smart… and in a way, better than the over abundant kick-ass heroines that you see out there which are all carbon copies of each other LOL.

    Are you enjoying Bitten?

  2. Taja Tuesday, March 24, 2009 at 10:42 pm #

    Nath – thanks for your opinion!

    I’ve practically no experience with urban fantasy and the brand of kick-ass heroine encountered there so the question how typical Elena is kept popping up while I was reading Bitten. I agree with what you said about Elena but I’m not sure I’m happy about what you said about the more typical heroines, LOL.

    I’ve finished Bitten and hope to write a review before I tackle the book for your challenge. 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Some Thoughts About The Heroine In Kelley Armstrong’s “Bitten” « Books and Games - Monday, March 30, 2009

    […] As I already said, this is the second time I read Bitten by Kelley Armstrong. I read it again because I wanted to read the second one in this series, Stolen, and I remembered nearly nothing about Bitten except that I liked it a lot the first time I read it. […]

Leave a Reply

