I’ve Finally Reached The Top 1000

20 Mar

… in a browser RPG I’ve been playing for more than six months now!

I know this only interests me but *g* I have to celebrate a bit here (I’ve also bought shoes today). But I promise it’s back to books soon because I’m reading quite a lot at the moment.

So.

I can’t believe I’ve finally “made” it. The last two weeks or so were a real struggle. It seems everyone wants to be placed higher than 1000 and gives everything to get there. Every day, I inched a few places up only to lose them nearly all again when I logged out.

The game goes like this:

You have a character, you do quests (up to five each day), you can let your character work, and you can fight other characters. For the quests, you gain experience points, money, and honor points. For work, you gain money. And for fighting other characters and winning, your character gains honor points and sometimes money (and vice versa).

How many honor points your character has determines his rank on the ladder. With the money earned, you improve your skills and you can buy items like weapons and armors for example.

If you’re willing to invest real money, you can do more quests each day, fight other characters more often, and get more offers from the shop which translates into faster level-ups and a faster climbing on the ladder than the other players.

So far, I didn’t invest real money and I never will because the whole game is a huge rip-off in terms of what you get for your money. And yet, some players seem to spend so much money each month that they could play World of Warcraft for half a year if not for longer. Totally crazy (or typical male behavior to see who has the…I think you know what I mean).

I started to play because you don’t actually need a lot of time for it (if you go without real money, that is) so it’s great for procrastinating some diversion when you’re working. It just requires a few clicks now and then and you’re set. I also want(ed) to see how far I get without spending real money and – considering how long it took me to go from 1100 to 1000 – I think I’m already near the point where I no longer can compete without it.

To give you an idea:

This was yesterday in the late afternoon. I got attacked and won and ta-da: 1000!

legend-1000_1

This morning after doing 3 quests (starting from 1006): 996

legend-1000_2

This evening, after doing my last two quests (starting from 1002): 994

legend-1000_3

Let’s see from where I start tomorrow.

Since early February, I’m also a member in a guild (yes, the game even has that). At first, I didn’t want to join (several reasons) and declined the invitation I got. But they persisted and it’s a guild just for women, all older than 20 (except one member), and it was the guild I thought about joining when I signed up in September 2008, and they invited me and really, in the end, it was the guild name that decided it.

The name?

VALKYRES

How could I resist?

8 Responses to “I’ve Finally Reached The Top 1000”

  1. Jace Saturday, March 21, 2009 at 4:58 am #

    Looks like congratulations are in order, so … CONGRATULATIONS! πŸ˜€

    I like your avatar. πŸ™‚ And Bebedora sounds cute. πŸ˜€ Any particular reason you chose that name?

  2. Taja Saturday, March 21, 2009 at 9:31 am #

    Hi Jace, thanks! πŸ™‚

    My avatar does look fierce, doesn’t it? And you’re on the right track with the name. It’s the name of a cute looking little girl in a PS2 game (Arc: Twilight of the Spirits) and this cute looking girl is a possessed, demonic marionette. Or maybe she’s something more. I liked the “contradiction” between cute girl and embodiment of evil.

    (Here’s a link: http://www.flyingomelette.com/arc4/arc4bebedora.html.)

    I also discovered just now that it’s a real word in Spanish and its meaning is not something you would like to call yourself. Ups! *g*

  3. Carolyn Jean Saturday, March 21, 2009 at 2:20 pm #

    Congratulations, book twin bebedora! Look! You have Hope’s Folly. I totally have to get that one now!!

  4. Taja Saturday, March 21, 2009 at 2:52 pm #

    Thanks, Carolyn Jean. And LOL. I think I better should hurry with Hope’s Folly then. I actually could be faster this time!

  5. Christine Saturday, March 21, 2009 at 4:33 pm #

    Congrats, Taja! It looks like the fruits of your … um… procrastination diversion recreation has paid off! πŸ˜€

    Sounds like fun, though. I hope you can continue to advance without spending any real money!

  6. Taja Sunday, March 22, 2009 at 10:28 am #

    Thanks Christine. And hey, I have you know that this games provides a much appreciated, needed, and deserved procrastination, diversion, recreation break from work. πŸ˜€

    I hope I can climb a few more ranks without spending real money, too. But I’m also looking for alternatives.

  7. Christine Monday, March 23, 2009 at 5:51 pm #

    Alternatives? Like what? Having Bebedora seduce her way to the top? πŸ˜‰

  8. Taja Monday, March 23, 2009 at 7:49 pm #

    Christine!

    You know, I actually looked at that sentence when I had that comment posted. I thought about editing it to make it clear that I meant other browers games by alternatives. Trust you to pick up on that! πŸ˜€

    Anyway, I don’t think a seduction would work. This game uses only pictures, there’s no animation. (Ehm, this doesn’t make it better, does it? *blush*) I just meant that Bebedora can’t sway her hips and wiggle her breasts. More important, Bebedora would never resort to such ploys. She’s fierce and determined to make it on her own. *g*

Leave a Reply

