New Books Thanks To My Gift Certificate

26 Feb

Only four of the books were ordered today (the others last week) but since I bought them all with the gift certificate I got for Christmas, I show them off together.

Reasons for buying:

  • no-brainer: Linnea Sinclair, Kristin Hardy
  • enjoyed the previous one(s) in the series: Tori Carrington, Larissa Ione, Lisa Kleypas
  • on a “glom”: Anne Stuart (at first I thought I could get Shadows at Sunset, too, but it was an error in the shop’s database)
  • me being a sheep: Carolyn Jewel
  • bargain price: Julie Anne Long

There’s only one big surprise on the list: Simone Elkeles – Perfect Chemistry.

I can’t remember where I saw a review of it. But there was something that made me write down name and title and buy my first YA since forever.

Here’s the description from the author’s website:

A modern tale of star-crossed lovers with a fresh urban twist. At Fairfield High School, on the outskirts of Chicago , everyone knows that south-siders mixing with north-siders can be explosive. So when Brittany Ellis and Alejandro “Alex” Fuentes are forced to be lab partners in chemistry class, this human experiment leads to unexpected revelations – that Brittany ’s flawless reputation is a cover for her troubled home life, that Alex’s bad-boy persona hides his desire to break free from gang ties, and that when they’re together, life somehow makes more sense. Breaking through the stereotypes and expectations that threaten to keep Brittany and Alex apart, Perfect Chemistry takes readers to both sides of the tracks in a passionate love story about looking beneath the surface.

I’m on a book-buying roll but sadly, the gift certificate is done now.

11 Responses to “New Books Thanks To My Gift Certificate”

  1. Barbara Thursday, February 26, 2009 at 9:30 pm #

    Oh, I’ve heard so many wonderful things about Scandal! I just got it and am looking forward to reading it.

  2. Christine Friday, February 27, 2009 at 2:27 am #

    Oh, I’m definitely going sheep for Scandal, too! If I ever get myself to a bookstore. Any month now….

    I saw that YA book somewhere … it looks good. I bet my daughter would love it too. Let me know if you read it and what you think.

    So cool that you’re glomming Anne Stuart. I get excited when I do that!

    Happy reading, Taja! 🙂

  3. Taja Friday, February 27, 2009 at 9:41 am #

    Barbara – I couldn’t ignore all those positive comments about Scandal. I just had to buy it. Looking forward to reading your thoughts.

    Christine – “any month now” – LOL and poor you. I keep my fingers crossed for you!

    About the YA, I looked at my books and thought the usual suspects and why not use the gift certificate for something more “adventurous?” If not now when then? We’ll see how that turns out.

    Anne Stuart is a mini-glom. The “Ice” series and that’s about it, I think.

  4. Jace Friday, February 27, 2009 at 7:13 pm #

    Hey, well done on all these books! Should keep you happy and busy for a while. 😀

    If you want someone to read those ICE books with, just let me know. My copies have been sitting in the TBR pile for close to a year already.

    As for glomming Stuart’s books, yes, confine it to the ICE books for the time being. Unless you can get SHADOW LOVER, which is a great read. 😉 I’ve read a few contemporary Stuarts (all reviewed at my blog) but they weren’t great, unfortunately.

  5. Taja Friday, February 27, 2009 at 7:45 pm #

    Jace, hi!

    Yeah, I’m pretty happy about the books. To be sure, for most of them I will have to wait two or three weeks but still, buying books makes me feel good.

    Thanks for your advice on Anne Stuart. And I like your suggestion of reading the ICE books together. I think it would be fun and interesting to compare our impressions and comments.

    ICE STORM and FIRE AND ICE are probably in the mail tomorrow, for ICE BLUE I need to wait longer. COLD AS ICE is already here (and read *cough*). So what are you waiting for? 😉

    No seriously, no pressure. It’s just that I’m wondering how you could not read at least one more book in that series. Although I also think spacing them out is probably a good idea.

    Let me know what you think.

  6. Jace Saturday, February 28, 2009 at 8:58 am #

    Taja, I just realized that you’ve already read the 2nd book – COLD AS ICE – and I haven’t. So I need to read it before I can buddy-read the rest with you.

    Correct me if I’m wrong. You have to wait a while before you get the 3rd book – ICE BLUE? So essentially, I have time to read COLD AS ICE and catch up with you? 😉

    As to why I haven’t read the rest of the books – life just got in the way. I had reading commitment with my reading buddies, some books I had to read, and general busyness. But the MAIN reason is this … I don’t like to read romantic-suspense series back-to-back. Too much “suspense” is not good for me. 😀

  7. Taja Saturday, February 28, 2009 at 10:12 am #

    Jace – I wouldn’t mind reading the 2nd book again so we could still buddy-read if you want.

    Yes, I expect ICE BLUE will be here in mid-March. The other two could be here today.

    I was just kidding you (well, probably me more because I read COLD AS ICE as soon as I had the parcel opened) a bit with my wondering. I understand about not wanting to read romantic suspense back-to-back. Probably even more with this series because I expect a similar plot line (hero facing the question to kill or not to kill the heroine) so we would be going “it’s always the same!” if we read them back-to-back. LOL

    But there’s no rush for you to read COLD AS ICE right away, mind you. Let me know when you’re going to read it and I’ll do the same (if that’s okay with you). I’m sure we’ll work something out. 😀

  8. Jace Saturday, February 28, 2009 at 5:09 pm #

    Sure, Taja. I’ll let you know when I’m ready to read COLD AS ICE. I have 2 reviews to write (!!!) and I woke up with a sore throat this morning, which is escalating to a fever … I’m feeling quite crummy by now (Saturday night). I hope I’ll feel better tomorrow – we’ll see. 😉

  9. Taja Sunday, March 1, 2009 at 11:28 am #

    Great! (the first part)

    Not so great – the rest: Get well soon! Take it easy and rest.

  10. nath Sunday, March 1, 2009 at 6:08 pm #

    LOL, just gotta love gift certificates, right? 😛 Except when you buy your own like me ^_^; Great haul!

  11. Taja Sunday, March 1, 2009 at 7:54 pm #

    Nath – yeah, I’m pretty pleased with my haul. It was fun.

    “when you buy your own like me” – you crack me up! LOL

Leave a Reply

