Archive | 8:51 pm

New Books Thanks To My Gift Certificate

26 Feb

Only four of the books were ordered today (the others last week) but since I bought them all with the gift certificate I got for Christmas, I show them off together.

Reasons for buying:

  • no-brainer: Linnea Sinclair, Kristin Hardy
  • enjoyed the previous one(s) in the series: Tori Carrington, Larissa Ione, Lisa Kleypas
  • on a “glom”: Anne Stuart (at first I thought I could get Shadows at Sunset, too, but it was an error in the shop’s database)
  • me being a sheep: Carolyn Jewel
  • bargain price: Julie Anne Long

There’s only one big surprise on the list: Simone Elkeles – Perfect Chemistry.

I can’t remember where I saw a review of it. But there was something that made me write down name and title and buy my first YA since forever.

Here’s the description from the author’s website:

A modern tale of star-crossed lovers with a fresh urban twist. At Fairfield High School, on the outskirts of Chicago , everyone knows that south-siders mixing with north-siders can be explosive. So when Brittany Ellis and Alejandro “Alex” Fuentes are forced to be lab partners in chemistry class, this human experiment leads to unexpected revelations – that Brittany ’s flawless reputation is a cover for her troubled home life, that Alex’s bad-boy persona hides his desire to break free from gang ties, and that when they’re together, life somehow makes more sense. Breaking through the stereotypes and expectations that threaten to keep Brittany and Alex apart, Perfect Chemistry takes readers to both sides of the tracks in a passionate love story about looking beneath the surface.

I’m on a book-buying roll but sadly, the gift certificate is done now.

