Archive | 4:06 pm

Current Obession: Puzzle Quest (PS2)

21 Feb

Maybe you know the casual game Bejeweled

bejeweled

where you have to swap adjacent gems to from a chain of three or more matching gems.

It was developed by PopCap Games in 2001 (as a browser game). Today, it’s available on all kinds of platforms. There’s even an add-on for World of Warcraft when you have time to kill in WoW.

Every time I get back to playing Bejeweled (or similar browser games), it’s a guaranteed time suck as in “I can’t believe I played that long” *blink*.

Now, two or three weeks back, I was crazy enough to follow a link to a browser game someone posted in a forum as a “good time waster.” I played, and then I looked at the other games on that site and played some more.

And then I remembered Puzzle Quest: Challenge of the Warlords, a game I bought for the PS2 in May last year.

puzzle-quest

Puzzle Quest is a Bejeweled-style game and a RPG rolled into one. As such, it’s the ultimate time suck for me. Battles and other RPG-activities, like researching spells or forging items, are based on a Bejeweled-like playfield following the match-three formula. I get to play a “match-three” game and at the same time, I get a story and can level up with my character = win.

So I started to play it again. And I have a lot of fun. I haven’t played in months but I was right back into it. In that way, Puzzle Quest is like a casual game. And thankfully, as with casual games, I know there will come a point when I’m tired of fighting (playing the basic version of match-three) and stop playing.

But for now, I’m all over it.