Every Time I Read The Word “Vulnerable”

10 Feb

describing a woman’s throat – or neck or chin – in a man’s POV in a romance novel, I can’t keep from thinking that a wolf shows its submission by rolling onto its back and baring its vulnerable throat.

Yuckyuckyuck.

wolf

image (cropped): Wikimeadia Commons

4 Responses to “Every Time I Read The Word “Vulnerable””

  1. Jace Wednesday, February 11, 2009 at 7:54 am #

    LOL

    Well said. What are your other pet peeves in romance novels? 😀

  2. Taja Wednesday, February 11, 2009 at 10:59 am #

    Thanks for understanding, Jace. It was a spur of the moment post and later I wasn’t so sure about it. 🙂

    In terms of words I would say the excessive use of words describing a woman as small, delicate, dainty, and so on with “vulnerable throat” being the biggest pet peeve of them all by far because of the above.

    What are your pet peeves, words or otherwise (if you have any)?

  3. Jace Wednesday, February 11, 2009 at 7:22 pm #

    Taja, I hope you won’t regret asking me what my pet peeves are. LOL I don’t have THAT many, but the few I DO have, they are almost intolerable! 😉

    1. I can’t stand OBVIOUS stupidity. I recently read a story where the temperature was 18 degrees Fahrenheit, and the heroine walked out into the snow wearing just an unzipped hip-length coat, panties and snow boots. Get real!!!

    Then we have heroines (usually) who jump into danger without thinking, endangering people (usually the heroes) around them. Oh, the annoyance!

    2. I hate it when heroes and secondary characters sing praises of heroines who don’t deserve them. Example: a hero who keeps saying the heroine is so brave, so strong, so kickass … when she’s just an idiot who needs saving time and again. Arrrgggh!!!

    3. I hate flippant, sassy dialogue which aren’t done right. Heroines (especially) who have sassy-mouths always sound smug and annoying. I know this is very subjective, and there are only a handful of authors whose sassy dialogue I can tolerate.

    I’m stopping at 3. LOL I’m sure I have a couple more but I’ll spare you. LOL

  4. Taja Wednesday, February 11, 2009 at 8:45 pm #

    LOL, Jace, keep them coming. I like hearing about other people’s pet peeves or preferences. So what are the others? 😉

    1. Oh wow. She probably needed to be prepared for a cute meet with the hero around the corner, LOL. Unrelated, but the scene reminds me a bit of the end of Bridget Jones (movie) when R. Zellweger runs out after C. Firth with just a coat, her underwear and some shoes.

    And I agree with you about obvious stupidity. Bonus points when it’s just done for plot reasons. Urgh.

    2. Yep. When I’m told someone is like that and that, repeatedly, and I can’t see it the least bit = trouble. I recently read a novel everyone seems to love and I wanted to (great writing) but I couldn’t because I couldn’t see the heroine the way the characters in the book saw her. 😦

    3. Sassy, feisty heroines seldom work for me, too. I try to avoid novels with heroines described like that. And yes, like humor, this is very subjective.

    Here’s more about my pet peeves (link). We’re actually rather close in what we don’t like, I think.

    Thanks for your answering. 😀

Leave a Reply

