January 2009

31 Jan

Books

Books bought / ordered:
Lara Adrian – Veil of Midnight
Tori Carrington – Reckless
Kresley Cole – Kiss of a Demon King
Megan Hart – Stranger
Sarah Mayberry – Cruise Control
Robin McKinley – Sunshine
+ the 16 free ebooks Harlequin offers to celebrate 60 Years of Romance:
Once a Cowboy by Linda Warren (Harlequin American Romance)
Slow Hands by Leslie Kelly (Harlequin Blaze)
His Lady Mistress by Elizabeth Rolls (Harlequin Historical)
Crime Scene at Cardwell Ranch by B.J. Daniels (Harlequin Intrigue)
Price of Passion by Susan Napier (Harlequin Presents)
The Bride’s Baby by Liz Fielding (Harlequin Romance)
Snowbound by Janice Kay Johnson (Harlequin Superromance)
Baby Bonanza by Maureen Child (Silhouette Desire)
Kiss Me Deadly by Michele Hauf (Silhouette Nocturne)
Stranded with a Spy by Merline Lovelace (Silhouette Romantic Suspense)
Dancing in the Moonlight by Raeanne Thayne (Silhouette Special Edition)
A Very Special Delivery by Linda Goodnight (Love Inspired)
Homespun Bride by Jillian Hart (Love Inspired Historical)
Hide in Plain Sight by Marta Perry (Love Inspired Suspense)
Irresistible Forces by Brenda Jackson (Kimani Romance)
Speed Dating by Nancy Warren (Nascar)

Books read:
Helen Brooks – Ruthless Tycoon, Innocent Wife
Tori Carrington – Reckless
Sandra Hill – The Love Potion (Re-Read Challenge)
Larissa Ione – Pleasure Unbound
Shirley Kennedy – The Selfless Sister (TBR Challenge)

Favorite novel:
Not counting my re-read, there’s no “real” favorite this month but I was pleasantly surprised by Tori Carrington’s Reckless, and I think Ione did some interesting things in Pleasure Unbound + I enjoyed reading it so I’m really looking forward to the next one in the series, Desire Unchained.

New-to-me authors: Shirley Kennedy, Larissa Ione

New-to-me authors I would read again: Larissa Ione

Comments: Books

  • brooks-helen-ruthless-tycoon-innocent-wifeHelen Brooks – Ruthless Tycoon, Innocent Wife
    contemporary romance
    1) I’m not much for revenge motivated characters and 2) even though it gets explained some and the hero realizes he’s made a mistake, I still thought the reason for revenge rather dumb. I also was a bit irritated about a daft misunderstanding near the end and the whole “waiting for the marriage after they seemed really committed to each other without at least some talk about it” seemed to come from another time. Otherwise, a nice enough read – (3/5).
  • carrington-tori-recklessTori Carrington – Reckless
    contemporary romance (“Indecent Proposals” series, #2)
    One woman, two men who are best friends – this might sound sleazy but the story isn’t for two reasons: 1) the strong focus on the heroine whose carefully planned life gets turned upside down, and not just because of the two men in her life; 2) a revelation later in the story. I didn’t need the second reason because I thought the heroine’s inner turmoil about the situation well developed but I understand why it was included – a good read (4/5).
  • Larissa Ione – Pleasure Unbound
  • Sandra Hill – The Love Potion
  • Shirley Kennedy – The Selfless Sister
  • Stephanie Laurens – A Secret Love

* * *

Games

Games bought:

Games played:
Guitar Hero 1 (PS2)
Prince of Persia: Warrior Within (PS2)
Shadow Hearts: From the New World (PS2)

Comments: Games

  • guitar-hero-1Guitar Hero 1
    I blame this one on Christine. πŸ˜‰ In a comment a few weeks back she mentioned playing this game. I thought “Fun!” and looked for our rusty guitar. I wanted 1. to score more than 100,000 points with one song and 2. get to the next difficulty level (I played on “Easy”) – yeah, I suck at this game.
    After I realized I couldn’t get 100,000 points with Bowie’s Ziggy Stardust on Easy (I had around 71,000 after I played it with just one mistake), I finally managed it with Deep Purple – Smoke on the Water (goal 1). And I’m allowed to play on the next difficulty level now (goal 2).
    More “accomplishments”: I have seven five-stars-songs on Easy; and I managed to finish five songs on the next level. But I fear I’ve reached the end of what I can do. I’m just too slow and uncoordinated.
  • Currently Playing – Prince of Persia – Warrior Within
4 Responses to “January 2009”

  1. Christine Sunday, February 1, 2009 at 3:58 pm #

    Wow! You had quite a productive month in both books and games! πŸ˜‰ I have to admit that I’ve been pleasantly surprised by the quality of stories that I’ve been reading from the Harlequin line this past month. I’ve really enjoyed each one I read and am really looking forward to more. I’m going to keep the Tori Carrington one in mind for the Category Romance Challenge I joined for 2009. And thanks for the reminder on the free eharlequin downloads. I had a really tough time with downloading their ebooks last year because of Adobe Reader–the digital editions is still not compatible with the current Mac OS so I couldn’t open the downloads. It was so aggravating. Anyway, I’m going to look into the freebies. I thought I read they are DRM free.

    I shamelessly accept full responsibility for your foray into Guitar Hero 1. The song list on GH 1 sounds really cool–I’d love to play Bowie! I’m playing Medium now, too. I can just about finish songs, and very rarely get on the scoreboard. So far my scores hover between 25,000 and 40,000. Now Easy seems kinda slow and boring. Ha! Who’d have thought that?!

  2. Taja Sunday, February 1, 2009 at 6:47 pm #

    And here I thought I did bad. πŸ˜‰

    I really liked the strong focus on Heidi, the heroine in Reckless, and definitely would recommend this one. Categories are a win all around for me; I mostly buy on recommendation but even if I buy one without a recommendation and then don’t like it, I don’t mind it much because of the price. I’m glad I got into them. πŸ™‚

    This whole business with DRM and formats is driving me crazy: What format best do use? And can I actually see if the book I buy is DRM protected? And so on. Really, I would love to read ebooks on something else than my monitor at the desk (I seriously lust after the Sony Reader) but because of that (and the price) it won’t happen soon.* So it’s free ebooks and my monitor. Eh.. *rant over* That’s really bad with the Mac OS. I guess the other offered formats are even worse? I hope the download works for you and that you can open the files this time. πŸ™‚ I heard good things about Snowbound.

    I play GH 1 rather regularly now but just a few songs (I only mention the cool songs; GH 3 seems to have more songs I would like). Medium is still daunting to me, you’re doing much better, I think. I honestly don’t know how I managed the five songs, LOL. Does your teen know she has to watch out for competition soon?

    *Talk to me in a few months πŸ˜‰

  3. nath Wednesday, February 4, 2009 at 2:22 am #

    You did good πŸ˜€ LOL, i don’t know why you complained about buying more books… you didn’t buy that many πŸ˜€ Hope you enjoy them πŸ˜€

  4. Taja Wednesday, February 4, 2009 at 9:00 am #

    LOL Nath, and thanks.

    Yep, I know my reasoning often makes sense only to me! And really (even without complaining), it’s hard to beat you on “books bought” (Score, score, score!) this month. πŸ˜‰ I’m still in awe! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

