Currently Playing: “Prince of Persia: Warrior Within” (PS2)

23 Jan

I nearly completely stopped playing Shadow Hearts: From the New World. It was too static for my mood. Turn-based fights, even in the form they take in this game, are not the thing when you want a bit more action. I also was a bit tired of playing a character who looked like this:*

shadow-hearts-3-johnny

when I felt – still feel – much more like this:**

prince-of-persia-warrior-within_prince

So I looked at my list of games to play and Prince of Persia: Warrior Within seemed to fit my requirements. It’s an action-adventure with fights and some jump-and-run elements (think Lara Croft – Tomb Raider) and, as the pictures show, a much cooler looking character.

Warrior Within is the sequel to Prince of Persia: The Sands of Time. It is set a few years after The Sands of Time but what happens in this game is a direct consequence of what happened in The Sands of Time. The Prince is in trouble because he escaped his fate (death) in The Sands of Time. He is now hunted by an immortal incarnation of Fate called Dahaka that seeks to kill the Prince (for retribution). The Prince learns of the Island of Time and goes there. His plan is to travel back in time to prevent the creation of the Sands of Time, hoping to eliminate the Dahaka that way and escape his fate once again.

So far, I like the gameplay which is not much of a surprise because The Sands of Time was a game I enjoyed playing very much. I also like the dark story, fittingly accompanied by rock music and muted colors, very much. I only have small complaints: due to the dark colors, it’s sometimes not easy to see where to go; a few times, the camera wasn’t in the best position; it features a few chase sequences (not my favorite gameplay element). But apart from that, I like this game. Prince of Persia: Warrior Within is fun to play and it is just what I was looking for.

More about the story:

——

* Johnny Garland, Shadow Hearts: From the New World (PS2)
** the Prince, Prince of Persia: Warrior Within (PS2)

4 Responses to “Currently Playing: “Prince of Persia: Warrior Within” (PS2)”

  1. Christine Saturday, January 24, 2009 at 9:17 pm #

    Oh, see, if that were a movie, I’d totally want to go see that! I imagine you’ve got to have some awesome fighting skills to finish that one! Looks exciting, though. Good luck, Taja! 🙂

  2. Taja Sunday, January 25, 2009 at 10:06 am #

    Christine, thanks! You know, I would say the level of skill you need for playing, say oh, Guitar Hero is actually higher. Hammer ons, pull offs, hitting two notes at the same time repeatedly? What’s fighting (=smashing two buttons repeatedly) compared to that? 😉

    And look at this: The Prince of Persia: The Sands of Time – the movie!

    Links:
    IMDb: http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0473075/
    unofficial news site: http://persia.moviechronicles.com/
    The actor looks rather hot in the movie pics I saw (IMO of course). 😉

    I’m curious to see how this game-to-movie adaption turns out. I’m definitely tempted to go and see it.

  3. Christine Wednesday, January 28, 2009 at 4:45 pm #

    LOL! You’re too funny. I don’t even know what a hammer on is or even a pull off! Maybe you don’t do those on Easy? As for double notes, for a long time I could only do green-red. Red-yellow was a challenge and forget green-yellow. OMG total spaz. Then I get all flustered and miss the next 5 easy, single notes. I swear, I keep my family in fits of giggles just by watching me play! 😉

    That is wicked cool about the Prince of Persia movie!!!! I’d go see it. I like Jake Gyllenhaal–the actor playing Prince Dastan. He was in Brokeback Mountain and The Day After Tomorrow, two films that I truly enjoyed. Have you seen those?

  4. Taja Wednesday, January 28, 2009 at 8:18 pm #

    OMG! *headdesk* You know, I saw those movies, more than one time, and I thought that the name of the actor sounded familiar… *sigh* Where’s a hole when I need one for hiding?

    Hammer-ons and pull-offs are techniques that make it easier to play different notes real fast, like hitting red and green nearly simultaneously, for example. They come in quite handy if you can do them – which of course I can’t. What’s more, I had to look up what they’re called. So there’s no need to feel bad about not knowing them. 🙂

    And to make my humiliation complete: the way you described doing the double notes – that’s so me. 🙂

Leave a Reply

