Let’s See How Long I’ll Keep This Blog Theme…

19 Jan

I always know what I want for my blog theme. That is, until after a few weeks or month, I grow too irritated with small things which are not quite like I want them, or I might even want something totally different. So experiences says, this theme won’t last a year.

Impermanence and indecision, I haz them.

Ah well. Right now, I like the theme.

This time, I wanted more than two columns for my theme, I didn’t want flexible width, and preferable, I wanted a customizable header (to make the blog more personal, my main “complaint” about wordpress.com themes). WordPress.com offers ten themes with more than two columns. Four are listed as having flexible width, so six themes remain, and three of them allow some kind of customization.

I settled for Neo-Sapien, because after all the white of the previous theme, I wanted some color. I tested it with Firefox 3 and IE and with different resolutions. It looked okay but if anything looks not right on your screen or if you have difficulty to read things, please let me know.

If there are too many problems, I can change to a three column theme that fits what I wanted (the one Renee is using for her blog Renee’s Book Addiction).

4 Responses to “Let’s See How Long I’ll Keep This Blog Theme…”

  1. Christine Monday, January 19, 2009 at 9:05 pm #

    Oooo!! I like this layout. And I like the books and games you have listed on the left column. I’m a very visual person… so I’m totally drawn to that.

    I use Safari 3.2.1. and everything looks right. The text in this column is the best. The text in the sidebars is a tiny bit too small for my preferences (*ahem*old age*ahem*), but I can still read everything just fine.

    *is totally jealous of the THREE columns in your sidebars!*

  2. Jace Tuesday, January 20, 2009 at 7:59 am #

    Hey … cool blog theme! Red works really well with the black and grey. I’m using Mozilla browser and this new theme took a bit of time to load … don’t know if it’s my internet connection or what (I’m on broadband). Anyway, I’m looking forward to see how you’ll tweak this further. 😉

  3. Taja Tuesday, January 20, 2009 at 9:03 am #

    Christine, thank you for your feedback. I’m glad you like it and that it works with Safari.

    The font size in the sidebars is something I’m not too happy about, too. I probably could change the font size for the text widgets there (not sure because I can’t see the style sheet), but just for the text itself and not the heading so because of the overall look I better don’t mess with that, I think. I can change the color for these text widgets (I think). White is probably easier to read on black than red.

    Yeah, THREE sidebars, LOL. I like it – a lot of space to play around – although I was (am) afraid it’s too much or confusing, and that the loading time would be rather high. I’ll just have to wait and see. 🙂

  4. Taja Tuesday, January 20, 2009 at 9:12 am #

    Jace, thank you for the compliment and for letting me know about the loading time.

    I was afraid of that. I did a speed test and compared it with a few other sites and it wasn’t the slowest, but I’m not sure how accurate those tests are. I hope it didn’t take more than a few seconds to load. If so, please let me know. I don’t want to think about how long it then would take for dial-up… I’m sure it’s the sidebars and the pics – lots of things to load. I’ll see what I can do.

    Actually, I can’t do much tweaking with the themes here. 😦 The higher the number of sidebars the higher the number of possible widget combinations (which is why I wanted more than one sidebar) but other than that, it’s only the text widgets I can tweak some. *sigh*

    Thanks for your feedback. 🙂

Leave a Reply

