It’s Cold And White!

5 Jan

On December, 30, 2008, ice floes showed up on the river near our apartment. Over night, the river froze up and looked like this the next day:

winter-2008-2009_1

Another, bigger river, nearby – also frozen over:

winter-2008-2009_2

The same river as on pic 2, from a different bridge, yesterday evening: there are people on the ice!

winter-2008-2009_3

A meadow full of snowmen and -women, today:

winter-2008-2009_4

Close-up:

winter-2008-2009_5

I like this one:

winter-2008-2009_6

And because I had (still have) so much fun, here’s one from yesterday evening. This one is tall. I only reach to the shoulder!

winter-2008-2009_7

The last time I saw this much snow was several years ago – and it was gone in just two days. This time, the snow is supposed to stay longer.

Yeah!

The weather forecast speaks of temperatures well below 0° Centigrade (32° Fahrenheit), reaching nearly -20° Centigrade (-4° Fahrenheit) at night.

Still yeah?

Umh.

8 Responses to “It’s Cold And White!”

  1. ~ames~ Monday, January 5, 2009 at 5:39 pm #

    Lucky! You got to go outside and play in the snow. LOL It’s so cold here we huddle inside and only go outside when absolutely necessary.

    Love the pics of the snowmen. 😛

  2. Taja Monday, January 5, 2009 at 6:17 pm #

    Thanks ames. I think I was giddy like a kid when I took the pictures – I have A LOT! LOL

    If the weather forecast comes true, I’ll have to huddle inside, too. There’s no way I’ll go out then. 🙂

  3. nath Tuesday, January 6, 2009 at 6:24 pm #

    Wow, it’s really nice!!! Where do you live, Taja? I like how people go out and make snowmen…

    Sigh, we’re getting 15cm of snow tomorrow.

  4. Taja Tuesday, January 6, 2009 at 10:35 pm #

    Nath, I live in Germany. The snowmen just kept appearing, LOL. I really like it. With your sigh about 15 cm new snow you probably find it strange how happy I’m about the snow here. 😉

  5. nath Wednesday, January 7, 2009 at 3:46 pm #

    No, I don’t find it strange. When you don’t have it often and it doesn’t last, it’s great 😀 However, I live in Montreal… and we’ve already got what, a meter of snow before the New Year… that’s why I’m wary.

  6. Taja Wednesday, January 7, 2009 at 6:21 pm #

    I guessed that you would be used to a lot of snow but a meter – wow. I imagine it isn’t easy with that much snow around in winter so it’s totally understandable that you’re wary. I would be, too (and not skipping around happily like I do now). And yet, once in my life I want to see so much snow. 🙂

  7. Christine Thursday, January 8, 2009 at 5:42 pm #

    The pictures are beautiful, Taja! I love snow! As long as the temperature doesn’t dip too far below 30 F or -1 C. And if it does dip lower than that…. NO WIND! Brrrr! But other than that, I love to ski and play in the snow. Looks like you had fun walking about taking those pictures. 🙂

  8. Taja Thursday, January 8, 2009 at 6:35 pm #

    Thank you, Christine. I had A LOT of fun and even though Iwouldlovetohaveabettercamera, I took many pictures. The last two days, it was VERY cold here. The weather forecast was right and I huddled inside. 🙂

Leave a Reply

