Book Cataloguing: Goodreads.com?

11 Dec

Last night, around 2:30 am (!), I found this site: goodreads.com.

I like the look of it, but I also was a bit puzzled. Is there a big difference to LibraryThing? Does anyone have experience with this site or maybe even use it?

I’m tempted to sign up but I already use LibraryThing and without a real difference between the two, Goodreads would be just another time suck thing to play with.

On Goodreads, you start with three default shelves: read, currently-reading, and to-read. The last two are the reason I’m interested in trying it (and I think that’s the difference). In addition, you can also create your own bookshelves.

But I think that there are no tags – one of the things I like best about LibraryThing – and that you would need to create different shelves to catalogue books of different genres or sub-genres. I also don’t think that cross-referencing would be possible with that. A book would either need to be on the “romance” shelve or on the “funny read” shelve, for example. Or maybe the bookshelves I create are a subset of the three default shelves which would probably mean that cross-referencing would be possible.

There’s only one way to find out, I guess.

EDITED TO ADD: Kristie (J) wrote a great post about three online book cataloguing systems some months ago. Goodreads wasn’t her favorite. Thanks for the link, Kristie!

7 Responses to “Book Cataloguing: Goodreads.com?”

  1. KristieJ Thursday, December 11, 2008 at 2:16 pm #

    Because I excel at procrastination *g* and I signed up for 3 of them, I did a comparison of LibraryThing, Shelfari and Goodreads a few months back. Here’s the link:
    http://kristiej.blogspot.com/2008/09/book-cataloguing-analysis-of-online.html

    My favourite by far is LibraryThing.

  2. Taja Thursday, December 11, 2008 at 3:35 pm #

    Kristie, thanks for the link. I remember that post. But I had forgotten that you did Goodreads, too. Duh! I could have saved me some time. I’ll look at it again.

    BTW, your comment was the first one I had to approve (probably because of the link). It took me some time to figure out why it didn’t show up on the blog when I could see that you left a comment. That comes from staying up so late, I think! πŸ˜‰

  3. Sayuri Friday, December 19, 2008 at 9:19 pm #

    I have a Goodreads acount and I love it. I don’t have Libaray thing cause you have to pay to use it. Goodreads is free and really easy to use, I find.

    The bookslhelves are just labels and you can put a book on as many bookshleves as you please.

  4. Taja Saturday, December 20, 2008 at 10:03 am #

    Hi Sayuri!

    “The bookshelves are just labels and you can put a book on as many bookshelves as you please.

    – That’s good to know! I think I’ll try it the next couple of days. Thank you.

  5. Christine Monday, December 22, 2008 at 5:41 am #

    And because you just HAVE to have a third, and different opinion…. I have Shelfari and love it! LOL

    I joined Shelfari in July 2007, which I think was close to its conception. I got an email invitation from a fellow romance reader who had joined and having no knowledge of LibraryThing or Good Reads, I thought an online book catalogue was the greatest thing since sliced bread! Well… not really… but you know what I mean. Anyway, I’ve been more consistent than I ever thought I’d be about keeping my shelf updated. if you want to check out my shelf, the link is http://shelfari.com/ChristineA

  6. Christine Monday, December 22, 2008 at 5:43 am #

    Actually this is a better direct link to my shelf: http://shelfari.com/ChristineA/shelf

  7. Taja Monday, December 22, 2008 at 10:41 am #

    LOL! Thanks for your opinion. I’ll look into Shelfari, too. πŸ™‚

    I really love LibraryThing but despite that, I haven’t upgraded yet (it’s the paypal thing), so I wouldn’t feel bad about deciding for another service. Sometimes indecision is a good thing.

    Thanks for your link!

Leave a Reply

