All Weekend…

7 Dec

…I couldn’t decide if I should read these two books:

Pamela Clare’s Ride the Fire and Lisa Kleypas’s Devil in Winter.

Ride the Fire was in the mail on Saturday even though I didn’t expect to get it before next week. Kleypas’s book I had on Thursday this week together with three other books. Reason I bought them: “They are all sold at such a good price I can not not buy them” (and they were in stock). Oh laugh! Besides Lisa Kleypas – Devil in Winter, I also bought Deanna Reybourn – Silent in the Grave, Susan Mallery – Sweet Trouble, and Suzanne Brockmann – Body Language then, and two out of the four were not exactly on my list of “books to buy.” Is there a cure for that?

So, why don’t I read Ride the Fire and Devil in Winter?

Leaving aside that I can’t decide which one to read first, I’m no longer sure if I should read them before I’ve read the others in the series. I thought I was okay with skipping the others but of course now I wonder if it wouldn’t be “better” to wait and read the other books in the series first (which I don’t have and would need to order).

So I sit here and wonder and read Suzanne Brockmann’s Body Language and Sarah Gabriel’s Keeping Kate instead.

It seems I like to create a problem where none is. I mean, I could just read them, couldn’t I?

6 Responses to “All Weekend…”

  1. Renee Monday, December 8, 2008 at 12:21 am #

    Most definitely read the Wallflowers series in order. By the time Devil in Winter starts, there has been quite a bit of character development with Evie and esepcially Sebastion. Devil in Winter is my favorite book in the series, and well worth the investment of the 2 previous books!
    BTW, Silent in the Grave is great historical mystery. Enjoy!

  2. Taja Monday, December 8, 2008 at 9:11 am #

    Hi Renee! Yes, that’s what I thought about the Wallflowers series. Thanks for confirming it! Silent in the Grave wasn’t on my list of books I wanted to buy but it sounded interesting and, well, for 3 Euro it doesn’t hurt to make an exception. šŸ™‚ I really look forward to reading it. Thanks.

  3. KristieJ Tuesday, December 9, 2008 at 2:01 pm #

    I’d say Ride the Fire is the one to read. I’ve read both and while I love both of them. Ride the Fire cracked my top five of all time list and Devil in Winter didn’t.
    Plus I think Ride the Fire is the best choice if you haven’t read the previous books. While there are two books previous, it doesn’t matter nearly as much if you haven’t read them.
    In the case of Devil in Winter, I think you need to read the previous book in order to get more of a sense of Sebastian and his wicked ways before you read about his redemption in his own book.

  4. Taja Tuesday, December 9, 2008 at 7:47 pm #

    Kristie, I was nearly decided about reading the other Wallflower books first before I read Devil in Winter yesterday evening because of Renee’s comment and my “gut” feeling about Sebastian. Now I’m gonna order them. Thanks.

    Your comment about Ride the Fire really helped (BTW, I didn’t know it was one of your top five books). I’ll go ahead and read it without the others first but I’ll wait until the weekend. I gather that it’s a rather intense story and I want to minimize the chance for possible distractions. šŸ™‚

  5. Renee Tuesday, December 9, 2008 at 11:54 pm #

    *jots a note and runs off to look up Ride the Fire
    šŸ™‚

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pamela Clare - “Ride the Fire” « Books and Games - Friday, December 19, 2008

    […] expected Ride the Fire to be an intense read. I even said so back here in a comment. I was […]

Leave a Reply

