Must Reads 2008?

3 Dec

aguirre-ann-grimspace
So I got two coupons from two different online bookshops, each with the condition to shop for at least 25 Euro to save 5 Euro. Not dwelling on the fact that I would need to buy books for 50 Euro (~ 10 books), this led me to the question if there are books published in 2008 that are a “must” read. It’s December, so now is really the time to read them, I think.

bourne-joanna-the-spymasters-lady
I have the more obvious choices

  • Ann Aguirre – Grimspace
  • Joanna Bourne – The Spymaster’s Lady
  • Sherry Thomas – Private Arrangements

in my tbr pile and I’m not really looking for hardcover books or trade paperbacks, but other than that:

thomas-sherry-private-arrangements
any recommendations, special books, must reads?

I have my list of books, no problem *laughs*, but I like the idea to swap some of them for books I missed this year. So, any suggestions?

2 Responses to “Must Reads 2008?”

  1. Christine Wednesday, December 3, 2008 at 4:18 am #

    One of my favorite 2008 paranormals is Larissa Ione’s Pleasure Unbound. Did you read that one? It got some mixed reviews, but I loved it! …. and lucky me, recently won an ARC of the next book in the series! 🙂

    I also loved The Duke of Shadows by Meredith Duran.

    Have you read the Mercy Thompson books by Patricia Briggs? They’re urban fantasy… Iron Kissed is book 3 in the series that came out earlier in 2008.

    I would highly recommend the YA novel Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins, but I’m pretty sure it’s only HC. That one might go in the ‘wait-till-it’s-in-paperback’ list. 😉

  2. Taja Wednesday, December 3, 2008 at 10:53 am #

    I haven’t read Ione’s book, but I remember your review and I’ll check some more. Hunger Games is already on my list for when it’s in paperback thanks to your review. 🙂

    The problem I have with Briggs is – it’s another series. Although I don’t know why I bother to resist. One day I’ll buy the first one, I’m sure of that. LOL.

    Duke of Shadows – that’s one of the books I couldn’t remember the title but knew it was talked about. Thanks for reminding me!

    And thanks for your recommendations! 🙂

Leave a Reply

