Funny Quote: Why Do You Read Train Wrecks?

15 Nov

“Well, you know how everyone has to watch a train wreck? Well imagine if that train fell onto a hospital, and then the hospital caught on fire, and then an airplane was attracted by the flames and flew into it as well, blowing up, and then out of nowhere Godzilla showed up and started stomping on things, and just when you think it can’t get WORSE, the Enterprise shows up with Picard and starts shooting at Godzilla. And that is how I can read it, BECAUSE YOU GOTTA KNOW IF PICARD CAN KILL GODZILLA.”

I can’t remember how I found it (quite a few links involved), but this quote just cracked me up. It’s the answer someone gave to the question why she read Twilight. It seems to have originated in the comment thread of this post. But I don’t know, it seems somewhat familiar and that post was just a few days ago. It’s more likely that it’s rather famous and I’m the last one to catch up.

Anyway, I just love it. And it’s so true of all train wreck reads, IMO. The best answer I’ve read so far to the question why you sometimes just can’t help yourself with what you read.

4 Responses to “Funny Quote: Why Do You Read Train Wrecks?”

  1. Christine Saturday, November 15, 2008 at 4:37 pm #

    That is a great quote. I’d be the same way… I only stop reading something if it’s really boring and can’t keep my attention. But sometimes stupid/silly/ridiculous stuff is still really entertaining, right? And yeah… I’d need to know if Picard could kill Godzilla, too. Or if he’d need to call in Kirk to help him do the job. πŸ˜‰

  2. Taja Sunday, November 16, 2008 at 11:53 am #

    I love the Godzilla-Picard line. And I think that when Kirk needs to show up, then it gets really entertaining! πŸ˜‰

  3. Carolyn Jean Sunday, November 16, 2008 at 4:39 pm #

    Very funny! But honestly, everybody knows the weaponry on the Enterprise could kill Godzilla. They have photon torpedos!!!

  4. Taja Sunday, November 16, 2008 at 7:12 pm #

    LMAO! You know your stuff. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

