Books For The Weekend

1 Nov

Books for the weekend:

The first three were in the mail today (I was really surprised about the Brook and James book), the Sanderson book arrived here on Thursday, and the Phillips book I got yesterday from Harlequin in their free e-book give-away for Halloween.

Although one is a bit of a favorite (I think), I find it difficult to decide which one to read first because:

  • the first three have all something that makes me want to read them right away
  • I’m in the mood for a fantasy novel + I really am intrigued by these paragraphs set before the actual prologue in Sanderson’s Mistborn:

    Sometimes, I worry that I’m not the hero everyone thinks I am.
    The philosophers assure me that this is the time, that the signs have been met. But I still wonder if they have the wrong man. So many people depend on me. They say I will hold the future of the entire world on my arms.
    What would they think if they knew that their champion–the Hero of Ages, their savior–doubted himself? Perhaps they wouldn’t be surprised at all. In a way, this is what worries me most. Maybe, in their hearts, they wonder–just as I do.
    When they see me, do they see a liar?

  • the most unlikely of the bunch is the last one because I would have to read it sitting at my desk.

If I could just decide, my weekend plans would be made, especially since The Boyfriend goes out to play football (soccer) later today (= no distraction). I just hope he doesn’t come back complaining how everything hurts. The last time he played he was probably half as old as he is now.*

Men!

But enough with the procrastination. I have some work to do before I can read so I better should get going. The sooner I’m done, the sooner I can read. Whatever it will turn out to be.

Would you have a favorite out of the five?
Any guesses as to what I’ll end up with?
Maybe it’s the same?


* Slight exaggeration here, of course. It was only 15 something years ago or so…

6 Responses to “Books For The Weekend”

  1. Carolyn Jean Saturday, November 1, 2008 at 8:16 pm #

    Well, I’d go with Mistborn first. That’s the one that’s calling you. Sounds cool!

  2. Taja Sunday, November 2, 2008 at 12:31 pm #

    *laugh* I knew I should write more about the other three books. Or at least something “negative” (loooong) about Mistborn. But the post was already longer than I intended. πŸ™‚

  3. Kristie(J) Sunday, November 2, 2008 at 1:14 pm #

    Well *grin* I would recommend Broken Wing – but I agree with CJ – you have to go with the book that calls you. That’s what happened with Broken Wing. I had no intention of reading it when I did, but it ‘called’ to me. When a book does that I’ve discovered, it’s best to listen to it πŸ™‚

  4. Taja Sunday, November 2, 2008 at 6:04 pm #

    Kristie, your choice is definitely a surprise! πŸ˜‰

    I’m reading two books now (both very good). Another one was calling today, so to say. Me and my indecision! It happens all the time when there’s too much that I want. *laugh*

  5. Christine Wednesday, November 5, 2008 at 10:47 pm #

    My husband, at 45 yrs. old, plays footy (soccer) at least three times a week with guys who are in their mid to late 20s to early 30s. He plays like he’s one of them, which is great, only I have to have an exhausted, bruised, and achy husband all the other nights. Not so great! LOL

    Anyway, I’m planning on reading both DEMON BOUND and BROKEN WING, and maybe even IRREVERSIBLE, so I hope you read MISTBORN first, too. I just read another author raving about author Brandon Sanderson, so I’d like to hear your thoughts on it before I add it to my list.

  6. Taja Thursday, November 6, 2008 at 11:12 am #

    Oh wow! I’m impressed. When I tell The Boyfriend about your husband he’ll be depressed. LOL And: three times a week – could that mean your husband is into footy (love that word)? πŸ™‚

    Demon Bound – already read it, will read it again on the weekend. Really good. And Jake – yum!

    Brandon Sanderson – more than 400 pages down, 200 pages to go. I ordered the next one in this trilogy this morning. Thanks for saying you want to read my thoughts on it. I feel honored! πŸ™‚ Now I need to make my post about it twice as good. πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

