Back To: New Books

19 Oct

After all the theme change posts it’s time to get back on track with this blog again.

Just one more thing: I’m testing the “Top Posts” widget and so far, it isn’t working right, I think. The three posts listed this morning (“Kresley Cole Dark Needs…,” “Last Book order…” and “Helen Brooks Christmas Bride“) actually are the “Most active” posts because I re-organized my blog categories and tags the last days. But the top post by far is “Film: North and South – My Second Take” thanks to Kristie (J) back in June (just for the record). I’ll keep the “Top Post” widget for a few days to see if it corrects itself.

So, new books.

Thanks to two gift certificates, I ordered new books a few days ago. I bought:

  • Meljean Brook – Demon Bound
    no explanation, I can’t wait
  • Kristin Hardy – Bad Influence
    auto-buy author; second try to buy it
  • Kristin Hardy – Under His Spell
    see above
  • Judith James – Broken Wing
    Kristie (J) is on a new Crusade Quest and I couldn’t resist πŸ™‚
  • Marianne Mancusi – Moongazer
    sounds interesting + I like the cover; second to buy it
  • Liz Maverrick – Irreversible
    I really liked Wired and just had to see how this continues
  • Patrick Rothfuss – The Name of the Wind
    in the mood for fantasy; highly recommended by trusted sources so I ordered it; later I discovered that there are quite a few who’re not so positive so I’ll just have to see for myself
  • Brandon Sanderson – Mistborn: The Final Empire
    fantasy + I really liked Elantris, and for less than 3 Euro I couldn’t resists even though I have the e-book edition
  • Nalini Singh – Caressed by Ice
    I wanted to give this series another chance because 1.) I wanted to see if the dynamic of the romance is different now that the hero is a Psy and if there’s more balance between reason/intellect (Psy) and emotion (Changelings) because this conflict is what I find interesting about the world Singh created in this series; so far, it’s been pretty one-sided, IMO: all Changelings. 2.) Also: Kristie (J) and Christine said it would get “better” (not that I thought Visions of Heat bad) in the comments thread to Visions of Heat. πŸ˜‰

I also bought the first half (don’t ask!) of the German edition of J. R Ward’s Lover Eternal for half price to see how all the slang translates/is translated to German. I’m pretty sure I’ll post about it soon.

4 Responses to “Back To: New Books”

  1. Kristie(J) Monday, October 20, 2008 at 5:28 am #

    Taja: I like the new look!! And if like/love Broken Wing even half as much as I do *g* you are going to l.o.v.e. i.t. to pieces *g*

  2. Taja Monday, October 20, 2008 at 9:10 am #

    Thank you, Kristie. I really look forward to reading Broken Wing. When I read your post, I knew I would buy it, no matter what. You sounded so enthusiastic. I mean, 6/5! As you said, even if I’ll don’t love it like you, chances are very high that I’ll still like it a lot. Thanks for the review. πŸ™‚

  3. Carolyn Jean Tuesday, October 21, 2008 at 3:32 am #

    I’m reading Caressed by Ice right now, too. I felt like you did on the VoH, not bad, but not compelling me to #3, but I have it and I’m liking it. Great choice on MJBrooks. Also, I liked WIRED, too. I’ll be interested in what you say about IRREVERSIBLE.

  4. Taja Tuesday, October 21, 2008 at 11:29 am #

    Carolyn Jean – “not compelling,” that’s a good way to put it. Caressed by Ice should be in the mail today and actually, I look forward to reading it. πŸ™‚ MJ flat out impresses me with her writing and as for Wired, I’ll post the review today. I hope your last sentence isn’t meant ominous! πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

