Nice Surprise – A Nomination

14 Oct

So yesterday, after one week away from “teh internetz,” I come back, thinking about posting some pictures to show where we’ve been, and then I see that Christine has nominated my blog for the “I love your blog” award.

Awww!

Thank you, Christine, I’m very flattered and I feel honored.

The rules for this award are that you need to:
1) Add the logo of the award to your blog
2) Add a link to the person who awarded it to you
3) Nominate at least 7 other blogs
4) Add links to those blogs on your blog
5) Leave a message for your nominees on their blogs!

Umh, point number 1 (more on that later), 3 and 5, that’s where I’m at a loss. This award has been around for some time and I’m pretty sure that all (romance) blogs I read already did their own award post so it feels a bit pointless to nominate them again and leave a message for them, doesn’t it? And even though I read a lot of blogs, I’m more likely to lurk than to leave a comment which means there are even less blogs I would feel comfortable leaving a message about the nomination: “Hi, this is my first comment on your blog but I love it and so I nominated you…” just doesn’t feel right, IMO.

So I think I’ll just go with listing the blogs I would have nominated here in this post to show how much I appreciate the nomination. I’ll add them to the sidebar later this week after I’ve changed the blog theme (hoping that changing the theme doesn’t screw up a lot here). I planed to do that (change the theme) for some time now, and I thought about adding links to other reader blogs then but hadn’t decided yet, but with Christine’s nomination that decision is taken care of. Thanks!

My list of blogs (listed alphabetically):

  • Ana and Thea – The Book Smugglers
    for the wonderful and long reviews and the “specials;” I’m really impressed by all the things these two do on their blog.
  • Carolyn Jean – The Trillionth Page
    I like the interesting and insightful things Carolyn Jean has to say about the books she reads. And she manages that while being funny. I also really like the way she uses pictures with her posts.
  • Christine – The Happily Ever After
    Yeah I know it’s lame to nominate right back and probably doesn’t count but, as stated, I skip a few steps anyway and I like Christine’s blog, I love her reviews and the way she writes them, and I think Christine’s a really nice and kind person, so I nominate her blog right back.
  • Keishon – The Avid Book Reader
    I like her style and I like her book recommendations, always interesting, despite being mostly mysteries.
  • Kristie(J) and Katiebabs – Ramblings On Romance Ect.
    They have always interesting posts and visiting is a lot of fun. Also: This was one of the first blogs I read back in 2005 and it was Kristie who made me leave my lurker status earlier this year. And although I still have to struggle with my lurker inclination (see the comments thing), I’m glad she (and I) did it.
  • Stacy – Stacy’s Place On Earth
    As always, I like the book comments, but I especially like the questions at the end of some of Stacy’s posts.

And:

  • Rosario – Rosario’s Reading Journal
    I never left a comment there (I think), but Rosario’s blog was one of the reasons why I thought about keeping my reading and gaming diary online, too. Sadly, she last posted in September.

It’s a good thing that just listing blogs in a post doesn’t qualify me to add the logo of the award to my blog because I still can’t get pictures to show up on the sidebar. Blogger was better/easier to use there; at least that’s what I’m telling myself. It’s not that I’m just too dumb or anything else like that, really.

So again, thank you, Christine, for the nomination. I really appreciate it and the kind things you said about my blog. Thanks!

10 Responses to “Nice Surprise – A Nomination”

  1. Kristie(J) Tuesday, October 14, 2008 at 12:43 pm #

    Awww – thanks!! Can I say how glad I am that you came out of lurker mode!!! And welcome back from vacation!!

  2. Christine Tuesday, October 14, 2008 at 6:12 pm #

    You’re very welcome, Taja. I think I found your blog through Kristie, so I suppose she should be doubly thanked for inspiring you to come out of lurkdom. I’m sure glad you did! 🙂

    I love all the other blogs you named, too. So many great people writing interesting things. Blog hopping is a great hobby! 🙂

    p.s. I’m totally counting your return nomination. Love is love no matter who says it first. 😉

  3. Christine Tuesday, October 14, 2008 at 6:13 pm #

    Oh yeah, and thanks for the ‘I Love Your Blog’ nomination! lol

  4. Taja Wednesday, October 15, 2008 at 9:22 am #

    Hi Kristie, you’re welcome. As Christine said, you should be double thanked. 🙂

    Christine, I’m sure it was Kristie. She did one of her famous “new blogger” posts for my blog and then I couldn’t back out. 😉 And really, you cracked me up with your comments. Thanks! 🙂

  5. Tomtom Thursday, October 16, 2008 at 4:48 am #

    Hello Taja,

    just wanted to tell you that you really have a very nice blog. I love to read here and there, jump from one to the next posts and enjoyed very much reading them. Well done !
    Thought about beating the big drum for my blog on “myspace.com”, because Im really jealous a bit of the nice readers you have on here. But the longer I stay here the more I need to admit that your site is the better one. *sigh*
    I fear in a few hours you will kill me when you read this, but I love the danger and Im curious about the “punishment”…;-)

    Take care, love you,

    Tomtom

  6. Taja Thursday, October 16, 2008 at 9:37 am #

    Tomtom! Now that is a nice surprise, too. *laugh*

    Two responses:
    1. ACK! *censored* *thinking about punishment*
    2. I love you too!

    Thanks for your visit and the nice things you said.

  7. Christine Thursday, October 16, 2008 at 6:53 pm #

    Aw! That’s so sweet!
    Go ahead and punish him, Taja. I think you might both enjoy the *censored*! 😉

  8. Taja Thursday, October 16, 2008 at 8:16 pm #

    *laugh* As I said, you crack me up, Christine!

    p.s. you were right with the *censored* 😉

  9. Carolyn Jean Tuesday, October 21, 2008 at 3:29 am #

    Hey Taja! Okay, I jsut came back from vacation and what a lovely surprise! Thanks so much for the award and the kind words. Also, wow! Loving the new look!!!!

  10. Taja Tuesday, October 21, 2008 at 11:18 am #

    Carolyn Jean, you’re welcome! 🙂 And also thanks. I think it’s easier to read now although I miss the colors of the old theme a bit. It’s a lot of white now.

    I hope you had a nice vacation.

Leave a Reply

